HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 15, 2025
Complaints 32882

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 466

Sarang Kapoor
Mar 1, 2020

Few days back, i along with the other student of iit roorkee submitted the application for credit card. The verification and every other thing went smoothly.

Even we all received a message stating that the application is approved in principle. Now, on the hdfc website the application status is showing decline. This is the case not only with me but atleast 15 other students who i talked with.

How come the application of more than 15 students is declined all at once when the hdfc representatives visited our campus and took the application in person?
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Mar 02, 2020
HDFC Bank Customer Care's response

We wish to inform you that your application has been considered in line with the bank's internal credit policy (which is based on a combination of financial and related criteria and/or statistically determined scores to assess credit eligibility)and operating/credit processes (which include a combination of verifications, credit bureau reports and document verifications). We regret to inform you that we are unable to approve your application as it does not meet the above mentioned internal criteria of the bank. Please be assured that our inability to approve the credit card application does not reflect in anyway on your credit standing or your financial stability.

-Nadia
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance
Mar 03, 2020
Updated by Sarang Kapoor
Thankyou for your response. However, I not concerned about my credit standing or my financial stability as it hardly affects. I am concerned about the way you manage your application procedure. As far as I know, the representatives of HDFC bank took around 400-500 applications and I hardly got to know that the application of even one is approved.

I do like to know that if you collected the data to 500 people and the application is declined for all then the data of the customer is protected or not? It does seem to me that it may be likely a fraud from your end.

In another case, you are wasting both your time as well as the customer's precious time. This is never expected from such a reputed bank.

5hybot
    Mar 1, 2020

Address: Nagpur, Maharashtra

I have purchased iphone 11 on date 25/10/19 from inspire apple store nagpur and was entitled for 6000 cashback, its been more than 4 months and i have not received cashback for the same i have called the pine labs once but they didn't resolve my problem so i am here for the complaint i also i have the bills and receipts for the same hoping for resolution
    Apr 1, 2020
    Mar 01, 2020

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. This is not the experience we want you to have. At HDFC Bank, it's our endeavor to understand your needs and provide you with the highest level of service. Please click on https://bit.ly/2Lzhyn3 and share the complete concern. Please mention reference number TT[protected] along with the requested details for us to help you with the solution.

-Anay

Address: 110058

Greeting of the day!!!
      It is my painful duty to inform you that your customer service team (Fastag devision) is not working as per t he hdfc standards or you can say as per the expectation of customers when we take the name of hdfc.
      Sir i am holding two bank accounts, credit card, life insurance policy of hdfc life, medical policy from hdfc ergo, some fd’s and the mutual funds of hdfc in short i...
      Prakash Paiya
      Mar 1, 2020

To hdfc team,

This is to inform you that we have paid full due amount on last month feb 10, then what is the purpose of charging finance charges rs. 522 and rs.90 gst on feb 16th.. Guys after payment of full due and awaiting for card close, it's unnecessary charges deducting from your end. Really frustrating service we facing from your side always. Check the total available credit card, 16k and we paid on feb 10 and after that it's came to rs. 15, 382. I need immediate refund of rs.618 within monday.

Note: faced very frustrating service from hdfc bank. Should i always pay to you? For unnecessary charges?
      Apr 3, 2020
      Mar 02, 2020

We have taken note of your comments expressed with regard to your credit card, you may look forward to receiving a response to your e-mail id in 3 working days. The reference number for this interaction is[protected].

-Nadia

anichd42
        Feb 29, 2020

I am holding hdfc bank account, i got it activated 1 day back. Today i was using the debit card at a shop, i came to know that the card was blocked. Didnt understand the reason, trying to contact their customer care getting message they work only 8am to 8pm. I caught in a wrost situation, not able to understand what to do. They have wrost customer care. They will never allow you to reach their executive. On net netbanking there is a form with certain types of pre defined queries. Fed up with this.
        Apr 7, 2020
        Mar 01, 2020

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. This is not the experience we want you to have. At HDFC Bank, it's our endeavour to understand your needs and provide you with the highest level of service. Please click on https://bit.ly/2Lzhyn3 and share the complete concern. Please mention reference number TT[protected] along with the requested details for us to help you with the solution.

-Anay

optimus3m
          Feb 29, 2020

Why am I seeing this charges of RS: 5.80/-? What does that mean and I do not have any information about it. IVR is confusing and makes yr life difficult. This is my salary account, what is this charge for?

Account Number: [protected]
          IFSC: HDFC0001225
          Branch: ANNA NAGAR 5TH AVENUE

shashi.2526
            Feb 29, 2020

Address: Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, 208007

I registered for fastag from hdfc bank on 12-dec-2019 but my address present in hdfc bank account was very old and not working anymore.

I need fastag to be delivered on my new address which is given below. I am chasing you guys from last 2 months to get it delivered on my new address but still not received it. I called customer care 30 times to update my address and get it delivered asap but everytime they told you will get it in next 7 days. Please do the needful and send fastag kit on my new address.

My fastag application no is hfr01062224. Please let me know in case of any concerns.

New address for fastag delivery is :

Shashi moule dixit
            House no 18, kaji khera harjinder nagar kanpur - 208007

Shashi dixit
            Mar 02, 2020

We request you to write to us at escalations.[protected]@1pay.in or call on[protected] for updation of your address and further redispatch of your Fastag.

-Zubin
            Mar 02, 2020
            Updated by shashi.2526
            I called customer care so many to update the address and every time get the response it will update and you will get it in 7 days. So please do the needful.

gaganidgarg
              Feb 29, 2020

hdfc life policy no.: 22177845 sold through fraud.

Address: 122018

I purchased the hdfc life policy (Policy no.:[protected] through raaj malhotra (Mobile number [protected]) who called me and informed that he is an hdfc life employee. He also told me that you will have to pay a single premium of rs 2 lacks in which following benefits will be provided to me:

1. Hdfc life jeevan sanchay plus

2. Hdfc ergo cis health suraksha plus with opd claim coverage (Within 25 working days of...
              Arjya bose
              Feb 29, 2020

request for salary slip

Sir/madam
              This is to inform you that i arjya bose, worked as a bso in hdfc bank, at dumdum park branch kolkata from 16/04/2019 to 30/11/2019. I sincerely request you to provide me with three months salary slip i. E. Of september, october, november on an urgent basis as i am required to submit it. My email id is [protected]@gmail.com
              Please contact and resolve my problem on an immediate basis...
              Yamaha Motif
              Feb 29, 2020

Address: 632009

My amazon refund has not yet been refunded to my account, it's been a year.. Purchase was made february 2019... Amazon tells me that refund has already been initiated and i have to contact hdfc bank customer care.. I have tried a lot with my branch but they couldn't track the number which i gave them, i have attached the picture too from amazon customer care.
              Reference number of refund is[protected]
              Apr 2, 2020
              Mar 02, 2020

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. Please click on https://bit.ly/2Lzhyn3 and share the complete transaction details and your registered mobile number to enable us to assist you further. Please mention reference number TT[protected] along with the requested details for us to help you with the solution.

-Nadia

sunlake
                Feb 29, 2020

Address: 560067

I have purchased vivo s1 mobile phone at reliance digital, phoenix market city mall, hoodi, whitefield road, bangalore, which had the eligibility of 10% cashback to be received after 90 days, but not yet received after completion.

Purchase date # 24th november 2019
                Payment referecen #[protected]
                Tax invoice # [protected]

This is not at all expected from hdfc
                Mar 01, 2020

I understand the inconvenience. Please click on https://bit.ly/2Lzhyn3 and share the complete concern. Please mention reference number TT[protected] along with the requested details for us to help you with the solution.

-Anay
                Mar 01, 2020
                Updated by sunlake

Through this link, I'm not understanding on what to fill in "reference Number" and "Complaint" type. Please let me know what I should fill here ??

Samson Chakravarthi
                  Feb 29, 2020

My relationship no : 3879364, I wan't to cancel my membership of Oneassist as I'm not using it at all and my bank is cutting money without any information. My credit card num ends with 1866

I'm requesting you to cancel my plan and refund my money back.

Suri Pradeep
                    from Bathinda, Punjab
                    Feb 28, 2020

Address: 2634 Sector 47 C, Chandigarh, Chandigarh, Punjab, 160047

Sir/madam,
                    I am manager in a nationalised bank. Hdfc authorised agent approached and pursued for credit card, though i informed having hdfc card with average uses of 30000/- per month, but he referred some additional features.
                    Verification call was made by customer care executive who confirmed approval of application and assured that the card would be issued and delivered within week time.
                    Now the bank deliberately declined without any reason, though confirmed as stated above. I have excellent record of payment of my existing credit card and never made any default of payment. Moreover am not a defaulter of any financial institution.
                    The such a negative attitude of the bank will badly effect my reputation and cibil score. Bank is supposed to apprise the reason.
                    The executive informed me that all requirements for issuance of card stand complied and application was submitted accordingly.
                    Recording of conversation made with customer care executive, who confirmed the approval and assured to deliver the card within aweek time, be checked and made available.
                    Such attitude of sales executive of bank to lure the customers and affect their cibil score on rejection, be accounted far and prevented in future.
                    Decline of my cibil score, likely to be made on such deliberate decline may please be considered and bank be instructed to get it improved.
                    Sahil suri

anurag:)
                      Feb 28, 2020

I was working in Delhi NCR, but due to very serious issues of my mothers health i returned to my home (Jharkhand). Due to non payment of my credit card bill my account is freezed. I have paid the dues recently but still my account is freezed. Moreover from last 2 years i am just paying the interest of my card. I have be requested multiple of times to convert my balance into EMI but always denied by the bank. Its my request to please unfreeze my salary account and accordingly covert my balance into EMI option so that i can pay my amount.
                      Apr 1, 2020
                      Feb 29, 2020

We wish to clarify that offers like Smart EMI conversion, Insta Loan, Balance Transfer, etc., will be available on the card account from time to time basis the usage and payment pattern on the card account and the same is not a standard product offering. Currently, there is no offer for EMI conversion on your card account. Hence we regret to inform you that we are unable to accede to your request for conversion. However, we request you to check with the merchant at the time of the transaction for offer availability.

-Nadia

Mail Service
                        Feb 28, 2020

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500 032

If you are building something. Build it in a logical way. Firstly hdfc calls me 5 times in a day saying pre-approved loans, & when i want to sign up for dnd or dnc form in this case.

The form https://leads.hdfcbank.com/applications/misc/dnc/dnc.htm says mobile number should start with "9" because of which we are unable to sign up the dnc.

I dont want you calling me daily. Stop calling & for god sake fix your stupid form.

dr.rajk.2019
                          Feb 28, 2020

Dear
                          Sir/madam,

I had two personal loan accounts one from hdfc bank ltd and another from aditya birla financial services ltd of two lakhs each from both banks but i was in need of more funds for my personal use, so i searched online, hence hdfc bank ltd executive approached me via india lends. Hdfc bank ltd executive and india lends executive both advised me for balance transfer of my aditya birla financial services ltd loan to hdfc bank ltd because i had already paid 6 emi of aditya birla financial services ltd loan. They assured me that balance transfer is possible after 6 emi in aditya birla financial services ltd, hence i was agreed for that and i proceeded for that but after disbursal when i received demand draft payable to aditya birla financial services ltd lan-abflnd_pl[protected] from hdfc bank ltd having dd amount rs.1, 81, 015.00/-, i approached to aditya birla financial services ltd for my final settlement via mail, but they closed my case saying that before 12 months its not possible, then i did make call to hdfc bank ltd excutive for either reschedule my loan or disburse amount of dd. They denied and said that its not possible. I told him that after 3 months dd already will be nullified but she did not consider my request. Now situation is that neither aditya birla finance ltd nor hdfc bank ltd doing nothing on my request.
                          Resulting i am paying emi for that funds which is not utiliised by me. Dd is just a paper for me.

My loan details are as follows:-
                          Hdfc bank ltd current/new loan, los no.94220538... Of 09 lacs.
                          Hdfc bank ltd past/old loan, los no.67950088... Of 2 lacs.

Aditya birla finance ltd loan account number. Abflnd_pl[protected]... Of 2 lacs.

So i need resolution of my matter either from hdfc bank ltd as i want my dd amount disbursal into my account or reschedule my loan for five years, otherwise i am not going to pay my emi from march 2020 because i am paying emi both in hdfc and aditya birla finance ltd for unutilised fund.
                          Now aditya birla finance ltd saying that hdfc did wrong name on dd as it should be aditya birla finance ltd followed by lan instead of aditya birla finacial services ltd followed by lan.

So i need either disbursal of dd amount in my account or reshedule it for five years because i am being suffering from mental torture.

Dr. Raj kumar
                          Apr 5, 2020
                          Mar 02, 2020

We understand that Mr. Sachin Chauhan has contacted you with regard to your query. For further assistance, you may contact Mr. Sachin Chauhan on [protected].

-Nadia

Hraju A
                            Feb 28, 2020

Address: 560058

I am a hdfc bank credit card holder. The bank has auto debited rs. 1399/- from my credit card number ending with 0080 without my concern on date:27/02/2020. I am not interested about this service and don't want this membership. So cancel the membership and refund this debited amount of rs.1399/-

Oneassist relationship number : 10140895
                            Name :- hanumantharayappa a
                            Mobile no. :- [protected]
                            Credit card number ending :- 0080

S_K_SINGH
                              Feb 28, 2020

Address: 282005

I made a round trip from agra to mathura on 14.01.2020 through mahuvan toll plaza. I paid the toll charge in cash ₹155.00 for the whole return trip.

However i shortly received a message from hdfc that my hdfc fastag wallet has been charged for ₹105.

I talked to the customer care and they assured me that the refund will be issued shortly, however they suggested me to write a mail on this email address - fastag. [protected]@insolutionsglobal.com. I wrote the email with receipts attached and sms snapshot given. But no refund was processed even after one month. I called again in feb around 3rd of feb 2020 but i was told to send a reminder but still no resolution. I had to call third time on 27 feb 2020. And this time again the customer care executive sameer hussain told me send a reminder and that due to technical issue for last one month no refund has been processed. But it is to be noted that no technical issue was being reported in the second call. And no escalation to seniors is allowed when i requested them to let me talk to seniors. I have send the reminder again but i don't have any hope if they will process it. It smells like a fraud. Hdfc is set to deduct petty amounts from wallets and hoping customers will give up after two three attempts. Really poor customer service or a well planned fraud is being done.
                              Feb 28, 2020

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. This is not the experience we want you to have. At HDFC Bank, it's our endeavor to understand your needs and provide you with the highest level of service. Please click on https://bit.ly/2Lzhyn3 and share the complete concern. Please mention reference number TT[protected] along with the requested details for us to help you with the solution.

-Anay
                              Feb 28, 2020
                              Updated by S_K_SINGH
                              I have already e-mailed the complaint to the mail id
                              fastag.[protected]@insolutionsglobal.com
                              Why do I need to raise the complaint again?
                              Besides I cannot view the TT no. It is showing [protected]
                              Feb 28, 2020
                              Updated by S_K_SINGH
                              Further, details for e-mail done:
                              E-mail content:
                              I would like to bring to your notice that i have activated the HDFC Fastag with customer id[protected]. The balance recieved was ₹300.

I made a round trip on 14.01.2020 through Mahuvan Toll plaza. I paid the toll charge in cash ₹155.00 for the whole return trip, valid for 24 hrs and the snap of the receipt is attached.

However I shortly received a message from HDFC that my HDFC fastag wallet has been charged for ₹105 and the remaining balance is ₹195 only. The snapshot of the SMS is attached for your reference.
                              Please initiate refund of wrongfully deducted amount.

Customer id[protected]
                              E-mail- [protected]@gmail.com

Mar 05, 2020
                              Updated by S_K_SINGH
                              No resolution of the complaint so far . And no update either. This is highly irresponsible OF HDFC BANK

Mansoor Ali S.
                                Feb 28, 2020

My fastag is blacklisted on 27/02/2020 due to insufficient funds. But even after recharging 500 it is still showing blacklisted / insufficient funds and low balance also. New recharge is not showing in the portal. And i need to pay cash at toll points.

My customer id is[protected] and wallet id is [protected]

Please do the needful. As i am facing lot of issues at tolls
                                Apr 1, 2020
                                Feb 28, 2020

Please email at fastag.[protected]@insolutionsglobal.com or reach Fastag Team directly at [protected] for better assistance.

-Anay
                                Still my issue is not resolved. My fastag is still blacklisted...

After getting reply from HDFC Bank Customer Care's response, Feb 28, 2020

I have sent mail to given mail ID but still no response. And customer care number is not connecting at all.. Pathetic Service I am getting from HDFC Fastag.

fastag.[protected]@insolutionsglobal.com

My fastag is blacklisted on 27/02/2020 due to insufficient funds. But even after recharging 500 it is still showing blacklisted / insufficient funds and low balance also. New recharge is not showing in the portal. And i need to pay cash at toll points.

My customer id is[protected] and wallet id is [protected]

Please do the needful. As i am facing lot of issues at tolls
                                Still no response from HDFC Fastag. pathetic service providing . When u cant provide the service then why are advertising your selves as a brand. I am facing issue at Toll gate paying cash and no one is responding to my mails and no is answering the call

MukhAnki89
                                  Feb 27, 2020

I had purchased 3 products from amazon on 23rd feb 2020 by paying rs 347 through UPI and then had cancelled one product which costs rs 109. Same day the refund of 109 was initiated by amazon, Refund Ref No[protected] but I have not yet received the amount in my hdfc account. I have contacted amazon and they said to contact the bank. Please do the needful.
                                  Apr 1, 2020
                                  Feb 28, 2020

We have checked our records and confirm that the said amount has been reversed in your account XXXX956 on February 28, 2020.We request you to kindly check and confirm the reversal of the said transaction.

-Zubin