HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 16, 2025
Complaints 32888

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 841

Natarajan Partha Sarathy
Nov 13, 2018

Address: 603103

I had lost my food card and hence I blocked it. I was informed by the bank officails to apply for a new card and then they can transfer the remaining amount from my old card to the new card. But I am unable to apply for a new card since already a card exist on my Employee ID. Kindly let me know how to apply for a new card if already one card is available in same employee ID.
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Nov 12, 2018

Address: Nashik, Maharashtra, 422101

माझे नाव राहुल भालेराव, HDFC banket माझे 5वर्षांपासून सलरी खाते आहे, माझे मागील 3वर्षापूर्वी credit card payment 1200 pending होते, दरम्यान मला बँकेकडून Pyement घण्यास कोणीही नाही आले किवा call नाही आला, मला आज HDFC बॅंकेतून call आला . तुमचे Pyement भरले नाही ..call आलेल्या व्यक्तीचे नाव मोबाईल न
    Yogesh Bauskar, Tejas Agro,
    या व्यक्ती call आला Time 11vajela 12/11/2018
    आला .ते म्हणाले की Pyement का नाही केले. मी म्हटलं मी नंतर Pyement करणार,
    त्या ladis मला म्हणी की तुमची Pyement भरण्याची औकद आहे का .
    अक्कल आहे का मूर्ख माणसा, या भाषेत बोलत होत्या,
    मी नाशिक police station मध्ये त्या व्यक्तीची आणि HDFC Bank chi Complent के ली आहे,
    लवकरच त्या व्यक्ती वर कारवाई होणार आहे .
    लवकरात लवकर मला reply करणे नाहीतर, paper, news, Media, TV,
    टाकणार आहे...
    Nov 12, 2018
    Updated by [email protected]
    माझे नाव राहुल भालेराव, HDFC banket माझे 5वर्षांपासून सलरी खाते आहे, माझे मागील 3वर्षापूर्वी credit card payment 1200 pending होते, दरम्यान मला बँकेकडून Pyement घण्यास कोणीही नाही आले किवा call नाही आला, मला आज HDFC बॅंकेतून call आला . तुमचे Pyement भरले नाही ..call आलेल्या व्यक्तीचे नाव मोबाईल न
    Yogesh Bauskar, Tejas Agro,
    या व्यक्ती call आला Time 11vajela 12/11/2018
    आला .ते म्हणाले की Pyement का नाही केले. मी म्हटलं मी नंतर Pyement करणार,
    त्या ladis मला म्हणी की तुमची Pyement भरण्याची औकद आहे का .
    अक्कल आहे का मूर्ख माणसा, या भाषेत बोलत होत्या,
    मी नाशिक police station मध्ये त्या व्यक्तीची आणि HDFC Bank chi Complent के ली आहे,
    लवकरच त्या व्यक्ती वर कारवाई होणार आहे .
    लवकरात लवकर मला reply करणे नाहीतर, paper, news, Media, TV,
    टाकणार आहे...

I made a transaction on Oct 5th with Incredible India of Rs.299/-. Transaction failed first time and I did not get the refund yet.

I have checked with vendor and he sent me a screenshot that money is not with them.Can you please check and refund the amount.

credit card payment related - Comment #3268197 - Image #0
    credit card payment related - Comment #3268197 - Image #1
    I made a payment of Rs. 12650 to merchant EBSIDPEDUCATIONINDIA. It showed transaction was failed but money got deducted from my account.
    Seems like the merchant used ebs.in as the payment gateway.

Reference Number:[protected]
    Date of transaction: 06 Nov 2018
    Credit card application number:CC38725750, and refecence number:18J[protected]S2.
    Through the link i was tracked, but it's status is Disapproved,
    May i Know the reason...

Damitri Kundu
      Nov 12, 2018

I have not received the money refunded by the amazon.
      The confirmatory mail for refund from amazon.in has been received on 9/11/2018.
      The amount to be refunded is rs 1557.

The reference no for refund is[protected]
      My customer id : 74434376
      A/c no : [protected]
      Ifsc code : hdfc0000075
      It has been more than 3 days since they have sent the mail. So please look into the issue.
      Please resolve this issue as fast as possible. If this kind of issue continues i will be forced to close my account in hdfc bank. So please check and the pending refund status and process the payment.

Unsatisfied customer
      Dec 18, 2018
      Nov 13, 2018
      HDFC Bank Customer Care's response

Please forward the copy of email confirmation from Amazon regarding refund of the transaction on [protected]@hdfcbank.com for further assistance. Also, confirm the original date and amount of deduction of your account to expedite investigation process.

-Anay
      HDFC Bank Customer Assistance
      Deactivate my one assist membership, which is activated without knowing my interest, or else i will deactivatey hdfc bank account, this is second time they have debited ammount from my account.

also i want my money back which is debited on 30th oct 2018

membership id - [protected],
      card no (ending 4 digits) - 4726 .

SivakumarP
        Nov 12, 2018

Address: Ranga Reddy, Andhra Pradesh, 500049

I have taken home loan from HDFC in March-2016, whenever there is a reduce in ROI they simply ask to pay 5900/- + taxes to get that low interest rate, whenever there is a rise in ROI it will get reflected immediately.
        I have paid EMIs for almost 2.5 years-30 months, my actual loan term in 300 months, with recent rise in ROI, HDFC simply increased my tenure months with out any prior approval or intimation, with this my balance tenure period raised from 270 to 303 months, instead they can raise EMI amount on par with raised ROI but they are making us to pay EMIs for longer time and loot customers like any thing.

suresh_manial
          Nov 12, 2018

Address: 400071

I have availed home loan from HDFC on June 2016 for Rs.18, 00, 000/-(Eighteen Lakhs) at an interest rate of 9.4% under VARIABLE RATE – MONTHLY scheme. Last one and half (1 ½) year bank has charged the same interest even though the interest rate has gone down to 8.4% from later October 2016) due to which I lost Rs.60, 000/- (Sixty Thousand)
          When I approached the bank last month (July 2018) they informed to submit form for conversion of rate. I opted for Variable rate, what is the meaning of Variable rate - ( the reduced interest could have been given by the bank or could have taken steps in this direction )
          Last 1 ½ years they charged at 9.4%. HDFC is known for sending various message frequently by sms, mail and why they did not informed such important information and sat quietly which has a huge impact on the consumer’s financial burden. If the interest rate is increased, will the bank charge the same lower rate of interest to the customers for the last 1 ½ years?. We know that the bank will charge the revised rate (increased rate) from the date of announcement without filling any form or charge. Here bank adopt effective mechanism to charge higher rate. Then why such methods are not used when rates are gone down?, and instead charge higher rates for years?
          My demand: I require the excess payment charged to be compensated by reducing the term of loan (9.4% to 8.4% - charged last 1 1/2 years)

Please advise how to proceed this and get this amount.

DeipakGupta
            Nov 12, 2018

I have redeemed my reward points (redemption order number [protected], item wildcraft pencil pouch) of my cards on[protected] and redemption charges of rs. 99 plus GST was charged on my card as redemption charges. Till now, the redemption product has not been delivered to me in spite of many emails, reminders and phone calls. In this regard Complaints vide reference numbers: [protected], [protected] and [protected] has been lodged to HDFC customer care senior desk but no action has been taken.
            More over i have been harassed so much by the bank and it has no communication channel. i didn't receive statements, priority passes or redemption products though i have opted for physical communication. Even emails and sms have not been send to me most of the time.i complaint this to HDFC but no action till date.

Sir, please take strict action against HDFC as they are harassing me a lot.

Deepak Gupta
            HDFC card no. [protected]

Shambvi shivan
              Nov 12, 2018

not received the cash back yet

Address: 560010

I bought a phone on poorvika mobiles on july 11th 2018 with my hdfc debit card with an offer of 5%cash back from hdfc. I still haven't received my cash back.
              My reference number for the cast withdrawal is
              No.[protected]. An amount of 16000 was withdrawn.

My customer id[protected]

Can you please check on it and provide me with the proper response to my personal email id - shambhavi....
              utsab007
              Nov 12, 2018

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700008

Please note that i applied for hdfc credit card and got reference no : 18k[protected]e1. I got all verification done at my office. I got multiple calls at office too for verification. Today got checked in hdfc link showing track your card application. Found the reason as follows. Application reference number 18k[protected]e1 status disapproved. I called customer care and they are not giving any reason for rejection. As per rbi guideline hdfc bank should give us reason or else we also file complaint in rbi and bank ombudsman. We want reason for rejection as it will hit my cibil. My cibil was all clear and i got home loan too on same address. If we will not find reason for rejection, we will file case in consumer court. It is my dignity which got effected and i am fully made up my mind for filing legal case against hdfc. I never had any credit card or liabilities from any bank in the past. Please provide reason or else i will file case in consumer court. Hoping positive response.
              Nov 12, 2018

Natarajan Ganapathy
                Nov 12, 2018

Address: Vellore, Tamil Nadu, 631003

Today 11/01/2018 at 16:10:22 pm an unauthorized and fraudulent online transaction was made with my hdfc credit card which was not used amazon prime by me (The card is with me) for some us based merchant. The amount of transaction is rs.963.11.
                Immediately i blocked my card and applied for investigation. Now as per the bank it will take 50 to 60 days for the investigation!!! In the meantime the bill for the month will be prepared which would include that unauthorized and disputed amount of rs. 963.11+ foreign transaction amount which i would not be able to pay.

This is a terrible mental pressure for me which will be carried out for two months!!! A huge mental stress. I never expected such dispute. It is purely a security lapse.
                Dec 13, 2018
                Nov 12, 2018

We're sorry to hear that. Please share your Account No. with registered contact info & transaction details on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

khotu6
                  Nov 12, 2018

Sir, i have hdfc bank credit card, and as per last statement on 16 sep 2018, i have to pay rs. 75292.00 before 06 oct 2018. Same was paid by me on 04 oct 2018 (Rs.15000+rs.60292=rs.75292) in two txn.

Now on 10 oct 2018 i have given requested to customer care no[protected] for closer of my loan running on credit card and customer care told me you have pay full amt including unbilled amount within 4 days from date of requested loan closer and i am agree for this. Customer care calculated my loan closer amt and update me rs. 2, 55, 000 + unbilled txn amt i have to pay with in 4 days i. E. Before 14 oct 2018.

Now i have paid unbilled amount on 10 oct 2018 rs. 53178.96
                  Again on 13 oct 2018 i paid rest amt rs. 250466+rs.5000 = 2, 55, 466.00

So as on 13 oct 2018 i cleared all pending before due date 14 oct 2018.

Now when my statement generated on 16 oct 2018, i have seen one txn dated 16 oct 2018 rs. 576.96 finance charges-cash.

For this when i called customer care, they told me it was finance charges due to late payment. When i told customer care i have paid before time pls check and update me again than customer care agree payment was received on time but due to not updated in our system these charges automatically applied on me they will refund it and its bank mistake and will not happen again in future.
                  Same was refunded on 18 oct 2018.

Now when i am checking my unbilled statement after 16 oct 2018, i found 16 oct18 one unbilled txn was show rs. 103.85 description igst vps[protected].0 -06027. For same when i contacted hdfc care they told me it is gst on finace charged on me. When i told the matter than they tell me sir pls send mail to customerservices. [protected]@hdfcbank.com
                  And they will take action on your gst refund. I mailed my matter. After some days i received reply gst will not refund as per finance bill.

For this i have mail to all authority including md desk but no one can help me.
                  Sir my question is this if bank make mistake than why i pay gst what ever be the rules of gst. That txn is not in my knowledge. Txn was done by bank and later bank agree its bank mistake my all payment received on time and bank refunded my finance charge rs. 576.96 but not gst txn rs. 103.85 which was still unbilled and i have reported same day the matter to bank but bank have not taken any action... Pls do needful its not matter of rs, 103.85 its matter of customer faith on bank. For this i have all proof and i want to go up to any limit... I am on the work for more proof i collect and produce to you when needed. Thanks
                  Nov 12, 2018
                  Updated by khotu6
                  Today I also confirmed from GST department they told me GST may be adjusted or refunded upto 2years of date of TXN. Contact your bank for initiate refund but bank refused in his mail and telling GST once charge can not be refunded...

Guru Sagar
                    from Eluru, Andhra Pradesh
                    Nov 12, 2018

Address: Adilabad, Andhra Pradesh, 504301
                    Website: Amount debited my credit with out confirming ticket

Dear sir/mam,

Yesterday[protected] i have booked travel ticket by using my hdfc credit card through tsrtc website. But two times amount debited but ticket not confirmed.

Date of journey:[protected]
                    Debited amount:366*2=732
                    Travel from mancherial to miyapur x roads
                    Id:tgsrtc52478
                    Creditcard ending number:2673

Following below transactions snapshots attached
                    So please check it and refund my money back. Please do the needfull
                    Dec 13, 2018
                    Nov 12, 2018

While we have received authorization requests for the above-mentioned amount and the same was approved/declined, our records indicate that the transaction has not been processed to your card account as on date. We request you to revert to us in case, the charge is processed to your card account in the future for us to investigate. In absence of any charge being processed to your card account with in 20 days, the authorization amount blocking the credit limit will be restored automatically.

-Manoj

Tophan sethy
                      from Talcher, Odisha
                      Nov 12, 2018

Address: Jajpur, Odisha

I am tophan sethy my[protected] my mo no [protected], [protected] i have money am very poor i can't continue my so beg you please cut negative balance and close account forever i have no idea for negative balance please please please please cut my account i never do any wrong. Please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please l

I request you please consider my request tophan sethy
                      Dec 15, 2018
                      Nov 13, 2018

In case you do not with to continue with your account. Kindly visit our nearest branch and submit request for closure of your account. Please feel free to speak to our Branch Manager. Mr. Nihar Nanda on[protected] / [protected]; [protected] for any further assistance.

-Anay

manpreetDhaliwal
                        Nov 12, 2018

Address: 160062

On[protected] morning around 11:00, i got sms stating that a transaction of 7708.86 rs. Has been done in viu - webpay/ie app fes nanaimo on my hdfc credit card.

I disputed this as illegal transaction done with my card. That morning i called the customer care and blocked the card. They have given me the complaint no. [protected].

Then i was totally confused as i did not know this and i didn’t even get a sms for this. Their billing system and internet security is very weak so that any one can hack and transact.
                        The case is now lingering for almost 7 months and hdfc is telling only one answer that 'you are liable for the transactions'. They are unable to provide me any authentic details that i'm responsible for those transactions. I forwarded the case to their grievance redressal team and progressive dispute team but all effort in vain — no response at all.
                        I would advice all readers, please do not use hdfc credit card and they are not secured enough and weak in billing.

Manpreet kaur

sangeeta7888
                          from Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh
                          Nov 12, 2018

My last working day in the organisation was 13 june but still my full and final settlement has no been given to me. I have cleared all my dues and have send lots of mail to exit team and hr team but no resolution have been done till date even the contact numbers available are not being answered. It is my humble request to you all to please look in to this matter as it has been already 6months and i am in urgent need of this fund.

Sangeeta srivastava
                          S26074
                          Dec 13, 2018
                          Nov 12, 2018

Please share the employee code, supervisor's name, office location & contact on exit.[protected]@HDFCBank.com. We'll get back!

-Anay

Nexcess Communication
                            from Tral, Jammu and Kashmir
                            Nov 11, 2018

A payment or rs 1399 from my credit card number [protected] was debited on my credit car account on[protected] as i did not requested for this plan so kindly reverse my payment otherwise i will be filing a complaint in consumer court.
                            costumer id:74256741
                            acc no:[protected]
                            Contact number:[protected]

Ajay190
                              Nov 11, 2018

Hdfc bank has been charging me for over 2 months in the name of non maintenance. I left my job and now i settled back to my hometown in u. P. My hdfc account balance is negative (₹ -1416) they deducted all the money that i had and now even brought the balance in negative. Why should i pay my hard earned money to this bank despite deducting my money that i had in the account. I request you to kindly take strict action against this bank and help me in getting the deducted amount back and waive off the charges that are levied on me by this bank. I will be thankful to you.

Ajay kumar gupta
                              Dec 15, 2018
                              Nov 12, 2018

We are working on your concern vide Ref ID:[protected] and will revert to you within 4 working days.

-Manoj
                              HDFC Bank Customer Assistance.

Ranga_86
                                Nov 11, 2018

This is bring it your notice that there were 2 dc emi loan has been generated under my name, actually it is supposed to be 1 dc emi loan.

Bring history: on 13th of october 2018 i order for poco f1 mobile in flipkart using my debit card with emi option but at the time of placing the order i got some uninterrupted error and simultaneously i received an email that your refund procedure has begun and attached email for your reference with the tracking number. So on the next day ie on 14th of october 2018 again i order the same product (Poco f1 mobile) and order was successfully placed and even the product got delivered on 19th oct 2018.

Now my concern is how there was 2 dc emi loan has been generated under my name it seems to only one. Even the 1st month emi was already deducted from my account. On taking point is from bank they have sent the statement for only 1 loan on 5th november. Still i don't get any proper response from bank inspite of raising several requests, complaint and grc
                                Dec 13, 2018
                                Nov 11, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                HBL[protected], HBL[protected], HBL[protected], phone banking request & complaint Id- [protected], [protected], MUMC[protected], [protected]
                                Nov 12, 2018

We are working on your concern vide Ref ID: TTU[protected] and will revert to you within 4 working days.

-Manoj
                                Nov 13, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86

Please find the attached Key fact statement from Bank for one DC EMI Loan as well refund reference ID (PR1810140259311393305905) email confirmation from seller end for your reference.

Nov 14, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                Hi Manoj,

Can i get any update here,

Ranganathan, A
                                Nov 17, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                Hi Team, Cai I get any update here. Regards Ranganathan, A
                                Nov 18, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                Hi Team, It's any more than month still I don't get any proper response or resolution regarding by DC Emi Loan closure. Kindly please do the needful.
                                Nov 18, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                Hi Team, It's been more than a month, still I don't get any proper response or resolution regarding my Debit card EMI Loan closure inspite of having all the confirmation email from seller End. Kindly please please please check and do the needful. Almost my 2nd month EMI is nearing. Regards Ranganathan.
                                Nov 20, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                Hi Manoj/Suppor team,

Kindly update me on current status of this Issue, It's more than month still I don't get any proper response or resolution regarding by DC Emi Loan closure. Kindly please do the needful. As per your Comments posted on 12th Nov : We are working on your concern vide Ref ID: TTU[protected] and will revert to you within 4 working days.

Ranganathan, A
                                Nov 21, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                Hi Manoj/Suppor team,

Kindly update me on current status of this Issue, It's more than month still I don't get any proper response or resolution regarding by DC EMI Loan closure, by this my time almost my 2nd month EMI date is nearing Kindly please do the needful. As per your Comments posted on 12th Nov : We are working on your concern vide Ref ID: TTU[protected] and will revert to you within 4 working days.

Inspite of having all the confirmation email from Merchant/seller end, why you are taking this much time in closing my Wrong Debit card EMI loan.

Can some one look on this issue.

I request Indian consumer complaints forum to help on this issue.

Ranganathan, A
                                Nov 26, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                Hi HDFC Support,

Can i get any update on this issue, Its been more than a month you people are not providing resolution for this issue yet.
                                Nov 30, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86
                                Hi HDFC Support,

Can i get any update on this issue, Its been more than a month you people are not providing resolution for this issue yet.

So you are not even replying or responding to this post.

Ranganathan, A
                                Dec 03, 2018
                                Updated by Ranga_86

Please find the Charge back form which was also submitted on 30th Oct 2018, but still my Debit card EMI loan was not yet closed.

MANAGER KUMAR SAINI
                                  from narayanpur village, Uttar Pradesh
                                  Nov 11, 2018

Address: 110085

Dear hdfc

Please note that i applied for hdfc credit card and got reference no : [18j[protected]n1 ]n1. I got all verification done at my office and residence too. I got multiple calls at office too for verification.

Today got checked in hdfc link showing track your card application. Found the reason as follows.

Application reference number
                                  18j[protected]n1
                                  Status
                                  Disapproved
                                  Remarks
                                  We believe that you deserve to have a hassle-free banking experience with hdfc bank. Therefore, to ensure that you are aware of your credit card application status, we have introduced a simple process to track the progress of your application.
                                  Dec 21, 2018
                                  Nov 11, 2018
                                  Updated by MANAGER KUMAR SAINI
                                  plz resolve my question
                                  Nov 20, 2018

We wish to inform that your application was considered in line with the bank's internal credit policy (which is based on a combination of financial and related criteria and/or statistically determined scores to assess credit eligibility) and operating / credit processes (which include a combination of verifications, credit bureau reports and document verifications). Basis the same, we were unable to approve your application earlier, as it did not meet the mentioned internal criteria of the bank. Basis your current representation and details provided, we have once again taken up your credit card application for a suitable review and you may look forward to receiving an intimation in this regard shortly. You may also track your credit card application status in our Bank's website : www.hdfcbank.com under the following path : Personal Products - Cards- Credit Cards - Track your Credit Card.

-Nadia

shubhambhateja484
                                    from Thanesar, Haryana
                                    Nov 11, 2018

Address: Mansa, Punjab, 151505
                                    Website: getprepaidcard.hdfcbank.com/fastag/index.aspx?_ga=2.208483030.517115656.1541918124-304061387.1538035

I have applied for fast tag with application number hfr086461. I have made the payment 300 inr (200 for security amount & 100 as the top up amount) uploaded the required documents, following that i have uploaded the signed application form as well.

Since then i have been trying to contact hdfc for the application status on the toll free number but no one picks up. Sent an email to hdfc. [protected]@sahaj.co.in no response.
                                    I'm not sure do i have to do anything else to get this application processed, what is the current status of the application. There are no updates regarding my application/money whatsoever. Let me know if my application is processed or not, at least i'll try another service provider.
                                    Dec 16, 2018
                                    Nov 12, 2018

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. Kindly note that your KYC documents have been received on November 06, 2018. Due to festival holidays, there was a delay in processing your application. The concerned team has been notified and your application is being processed and the tag will be issued to you within 3 working days provided your application is in order. We request your patience in the interim.

-Bejoy

Athiswaran
                                      from Jalakandapuram, Tamil Nadu
                                      Nov 11, 2018

Address: 625005

Cancellation of one assist membership
                                      I am a hdfc bank credit card holder. The bank has auto debited rs. 1399/- from my credit card number ending with 9971 without my concern on date:10/11/2018. I am not interested about this service and don't want this membership any more. So cancel the membership and refund this debited amount of rs.1399/-

Oneassist relationship number : 5677401
                                      Name :- athiswaran. S. P
                                      Mobile no. :- [protected]
                                      Credit card number ending :- 9971
                                      Nov 11, 2018
                                      Updated by Athiswaran
                                      Kindly refund my amonu 1399..I don't need any assist services...
                                      Dear Athiswaran,

We regret the inconvenience caused. Your membership cancellation is under process vide service request number 3724348. You will receive payment in 2 parts, Your amount 400/- which will been credited in bank account within 5 to 7 working days and remaining amount 999/- after 5 to 7 working days.

Devendra,

OneAssist, Social Media Team.