ClearTrip Complaints & Reviews

Updated: May 27, 2025
Complaints 3045

File a complaint to ClearTrip

Having problems with ClearTrip?

File a complaint and get it resolved by ClearTrip customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

ClearTrip reviews & complaints page 146

Avinash Phogat
Dec 5, 2013

Hi This is in regards to a hotel booking we did through Cleartrip.com, unfortunately we choose/trusted cleartrip.com and booked a resort. Trip IDs: [protected] & [protected]. The above booking was done based on availability of property on the said cost i.e. INR :90, 000/- on Dec 29th at cleartrip.com(Voucher attached), fortunately we connected with the property representative to confirm the booking and was shocked to know that they haven’t received any booking/confirmation or funds from cleartrip.com. After have paid INR/ 90, 000, this seems to be hanging deal and middle of nowhere. I have called around 8 time in last three day, everytime is recieve the same answer, we will call back in 4 hour, but nobody does . It is a mental harshment from cleartrip . Now when i call they say the said hotel is full, but when i contact hotel, they say rooms are available and we will call back for alternatives, still it is around 6 hours no calls, but my question is that customer can only book ticket if available. Kindly help how to get the same resolve .we need this booking to be confirmed at the same location, same dates and in same cost as committed by cleartrip.com during my booking

Nov 24, 2013

Company Name: Cleartrip.com Regarding Refund of INR 17253 (Trip ID: [protected]). My money is not credited to account as confirm by their Executives. As the 13 days has over and they are just making fake promises.it is their responsibility to refund the amount and confirm for the same. I hope that you will take legal action and stop is High-tech fraud and help me to refund my money. My Account Details. Account No:[protected], Bank: Bank of india, Branch: Gandhinagar, Account holder name : Prashant kumar.

CVK24
      Nov 16, 2013

Inspite of following more than a month from cleartrip, I am yet to receive refund of my cancelled trip from cleartrip after deduction of charges. I have called and emailed so many times but no bothers to either reply or call back. First they emailed me saying that they refunded an amount which was less than what the refund should been. After speaking with them again, they emailed saying another refund for the balance has been sent to my account. HOWEVER I have not received a single penny of my refund. I am currently dealing with Niloufer (after going through atleast 5 people earlier at cleartrip) but even I am yet to hear from her after sending two emails and two phone messages for her Whenever I call back, all I hear is that someone tried to call me but I was not available. THEY ARE ALL LIARS and CHEATS. I have spent more than Rs 250 on calls to cleartrip till now but to no avail. I will now have to take some strict action against them unless it is resolved soon and I receive my refund.

phinuphilip
        Nov 5, 2013

This is regarding Online fight booking i have done in Cleartrip.com. Trip ID: [protected] Airline PNR: 32728560 I booked my roundway tickets from Dubai to Kochi through Cleartrip.com on 29th Oct 2013. Since i have to carry check-in baggage of 20kg, i looked for a flight with this option in addition to the hand baggage normally a passenger can carry. I confirmed it in the Section 1: 'Itinerary' of the trip details where it clearly mentioned as follows: "Note: Handbaggage - 7kgs/passenger free (smaller than 56cm*45cm*25cm); Check-in baggage/20 kgs/passenger INCLUDED" Based on this i bought my tickets and i received the ticket in my inbox a minute later. Since the ticket didn't say anything on the Check-in baggage i can carry, i called the customer service of Cleartrip.com to enquire about this. After a couple of calls (earlier calls were been disconnected by the executives there) i spoke to Pragnesha and she confirmed i can carry 20kg Check-in luggage as per the new Baggage rules of the airlines. Since i had a bad experience earlier of booking ticket via Cleartrip.com, that bought me mental trauma and financial loss by paying extra money at the checkin point on the travel date, i want this to be confirmed with an email. I wrote a mail to the customer service of Cleartrip asking them to confirm my baggage allowance which i got a reply on October 30th. It states that i can carry only my hand-baggage and for including the Check-in luggage i have to contact the Airline to amend the trip. I was really frustrated the way this booking portal acts, by promising a service and denying the offered service after the payment is made and giving the blame to the Airlines. I wrote to them explaining the things happened and till now i didn't get a reply from them. Since every delay from Cleartrip cost me more if i go for another booking, I'm chasing them for a revert. Since i have couple of experience like this, I don't want the same to be repeated to other customers. I want to go ahead with a legal complaint (though it cost extra peny)against Cleartrip management for violating the contract and make others aware of this kind of cheating.
        Cleartrip agreed to include Check in Baggage free of cost.

noufalnaiz
          Nov 4, 2013

On 7th Sept 2013, I had booked for flight through cleartrip from Sharjah to Cochin. On the process, I tried 4 to 5 times to get the ticket. Finally ticket received with trip id [protected], but double the ticket fare charged from my account. I followed up somay times by telecon and through mails to get the money back. But the reply from cleartrip was within 7 days, 4 - 5 days, 48 hrs, 24 hrs like that. Once the customer care executive told that the failed trip id is [protected], but till the time cash is not credited to my account. Regards, Noufal Bava
          Cleartrip replied on this page that they will refund the amount within 4 - 5 working days. After 3 working days, the charged amount has been credited to my account.
          Cleartrip customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
          Dear Mr. Noufal Bava,

We have traced the second transaction which was charged for trip id [protected] and the same has been sent to the bank for the reversal. The credit shall reflect in your account within the next 4-5 business days.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

Vishaal Shah
          Cleartrip Private Limited.
          Dear Vishal,

The charged amount mentioned above has been credited to my account today.

Noufal Bava

akki_46
            Nov 2, 2013

I had booked hotel in new delhi Trip Id [protected]. .I booked a room for 3 people but I got a room which was meant only for 2 people; hotel authorities clearly said its for 2 people and it was evident from the fact that there was no place for the extra bed.1st question here is that if I booked a room for 3 people and the booking was successful then why hotel denied it for 3 people and why I got a room where there was no place for extra bed. 2.The photos of all rooms which I had seen on cleartrip.com were big rooms with softa and table but the room I got neither had sofa nor it was big enough.rather it was half the size of the room which I had seen on cleartrip while booking. 3.When requestted by hotel to move to room for which I had seen pictures then hotel said to pay 1000 extra and move to the suite room rather than the club premium room. 4.Hotel is showing club premium room on the website and providing premium room which is half the size and cleartrip is supporting the same. 5.I wanted refund because: i) I did not get what was shown to me on the website when I booked it. ii) I booked a room for 3 people but hotel did not offer a room which was meant for 3 people and which had option for extra bed. iii) I paid extra not for the spacious room but to accomodate 3 people in a room which had option for extra bed. iv) I paid extra because I had family with me and was in an embarrassing position since the room offered to me meant for only 2 people and did not have sofa and table and also looked half the size of the room which I had booked. The moment I saw the room I called cleartrip to complain about it.they told to go ahead and stay and they will refund the money to me.but till date I have not recieved the money and the thugs tell me that I had upgraded the room on my convienience.I felt cheated very badly. Never recommend this to anybody. Please get me back my Rs 3000 which i paid extra for the room which i had actually seen on the website. Regards, Anand Srivastava

rafs123
              Oct 16, 2013

I have had a very bad experience with the hotel i book with cleartrip.com my booking id
              [protected]. The hotel did not give me the room i booked . And put me in another
              horrible hotel tiny room with no windows .. i took trouble to browse through the hotels to choose a particular hotel ., how can the hotel guys decide which hotel i should stay ? they put me up in a small very horrible hotel, i had no choice but to take that room, This is unfair practice they show another hotel room and put me in some other hotel ? how disgusting and disappointing . . .kindly help me get refund .
              cleartrip customercare says its ok if they do this .

Rafiq
              Oct 31, 2016
              wrong site, not for daffodils production house but for cleartrip

Sandesh Asthana
                Sep 26, 2013

My Trip ID is : [protected]. I made a booking in a Hotel at Bangalore. There was an offer of 30 % Instant Cashback on using HDFC Credit card for the payment. The total amount to be paid was Rs 4390. But, after applying the Coupon Code, the total amount got reduced to Rs. 3073. Before payment, it was showing the total amount to be paid is Rs 3073. But, when I did the payment, I was charged the initial amount of Rs 4370 and no Discount/Cash back. I tried to resolve my problem through Customer Care. They always put the call on hold and then they said that a callback from a Senior executive is scheduled for you. But, nobody called me up. One thing I can surely say now is that Cleartrip is the worst service for booking anything they offer. They are such a beggar kind of people, even worst than that. Atleast a beggar asks for money while cleartrip just takes money from your pocket. Bloody pickpockets..

drbiswabhusan
                  Sep 19, 2013

Address: Khordha, Odisha

MY TICKET IS CONFIRMED BUT YOU TAKEN INSURANCE MONEY YOU HAVENT GIVEN INSURANCE PAPER I CALLED TO YOUR CUSTOMER CARE HE WILL TELL ME SIR YOUR INSURANCE MONEY RETURNED WITHIN 7 DAYS NOW 4MONTHS TO ONWORDS YOU ARE NOT GIVEN MONEY TO MY BANK PLEASE DO SOMETHING.WHY YOU ARE HARRASSED TO PUBLIC.THIS IS NOT GOOD SIGN OF DEVELOP IN NEAR FEATURE.

raghudagar
                    Aug 25, 2013

Hi my name is raghu dagar. One week ago i was booking a ticket from gandhidham to delhi in tatkal quota. First time when i made payment the system shows result that " sorry currently we are not able to book your tickket". Then i tried again payment has been done system shows "opps the train you have selected is not available sorry this happens some time". Third time i got a view on my ticket and later i gotthree ticket for one passrnger of tatkal quota. Each one of rupees 541. I called customer care of clear trip they say that if what i was saying about system response is true then they will bare the charges. And asked me to wait 25 hrs. I waited nexy day they call and asked for more 24 hrs. This happens for couple of more days. Yesterday i got call from some boy name pritam say that my request for refund is not valid because there it department says that they have sent me a mail. Which truely i didnt get at that time. I have to bate charge of alomost 1100 because of cleartrip.com. this is not the first time i got problem for booking ticket in one month i got three time problem for using clear trip and first time and i got to bare charges for theremistake. I m there one of the consistent user and this happens to there loyal customer.

dhingra karan
                      Aug 23, 2013

i had made a hotel booking via cleartrip.com. when i reached the hotel , i was told that the room was not available because of overbooking. i had the then made to shift in an alternate hotel far off from that place. tried to contact the cleartrip official but he also hung up the phone after talking for 9 minutes. mailed to cleartrip official, got no reply till yet for all the harrassment i had faced.

kavyarani7
                        Aug 12, 2013

Address: Karnataka

I had booked 6 tickets from Hospet to Markapur road for 13th Aug 2013. I got 3 tickets confirmed, 3 tickets RAC. Then got a news that there is Thelangana problem on the other end and we cannot travel. So checked on Cleartrip website to cancel tickets. They told we can cancel ticket only online and only after the train departs. Train departure was at 11.30.

These great intelligent people put a notification on there website exactly at 111.30 saying that we cannot cancel ticket from there website till 00:30. Anyway I had time till 3.30 to cancel my ticket. I waited till 00:30, link did not open to cancel ticket but still said cancellation closed till 00:30. Then I waited till 1:30, same again. The same continued till 2.30 and 3.30. I waited till 3.45, still they did open link to cancel. If I cancel tickets after that there was no use. So had to lose my money completely.

Railways — No availability

I am a student of class 11. I had came to Mumbai for enjoying my vacations, but now I can not return to Patna because of no avalibility of tickts. I have a valid ticket but it is in waiting list. this ticket is of second class ac. My returning back to patna is really important.please help me.this is the case of my studies. thanks

ClearTrip — short refund

I booked my ticket thorugh Cleartrip on[protected] for Rs9050.
                        However transaction was not properly processed and some pop up came that transaction was not PROCESSED.On receiving statement from HDFC credit card department I was surprised to find Rs 9050 debited to my account whereas only Rs8663 is credited to my account by Clear Trip on[protected]..I request you to refund Rs387/ also.

R.BALASUBRAMANIAN

param123
                          Aug 5, 2013

Address: Karnataka

I prepone my ticket from 1st of August to 30th of July but they booked the ticket for 30th August.When I reached to the Airport they informed me that ticket is booked for 30 Aug and thus I had to cancel the ticket and book a fresh ticket for 30 July after paying huge amount there after when I complained to them, they iterated I only said to book for 30th Aug. Then I reasoned them why extra money was charged as a fair difference, they reasoned this is a standard process. Then they said they will play the recording that happend on 23rd of July between me and the Cleartrip executive but I am still waiting for their call. Today when I called them they are simple ignoring me and putting me on hold for long time.
                          I see they are simply trying to cheat people and hiding their mistakes.
                          Here is the detail of my booking.

This Electronic Ticket Receipt has been brought to you by Travelport ViewTrip and your travel provider.
                          For the latest information on your travel plans, view your itinerary at ViewTrip.com.
                          Reservation Number PMVNHI View Electronic Ticket Receipt

Traveler

Passenger Name Billing Address: Delivery Address:
                          KUMAR, PRABHATMR
                          No Address On Record

Agency Information
                          CLEARTRIP
                          Unit No 001 Ground Floor Dtc Bldg Si
                          Mumbai 400013
                          INDIA
                          Agency Phone: CLEARTRIP 41300300 CTCM[protected]
                          Agency IATA Number: 14307720

e-Ticket Receipt[protected]W 2424 - 30 Aug 2013 -VNS Today's Date: 23 Jul 2013

e-Ticket Number :[protected] Galileo Reservation Number:PMVNHI
                          Ticket Issue Date: 23 Jul 2013

Flight Information

30 Aug 2013
                          Jet Airways India (9W) 2424 Economy (O) Jet Airways IndiaConfirmation Number:EDXWBJ
                          Flight Operated By: JETKONNECT
                          Depart: Lal Bahadur Shastri Arpt (VNS)
                          Varanasi 12:30 PM
                          Fare Basis: O2IPJK
                          Not Valid Before: 30 Aug
                          Not Valid After: 30 Aug
                          Arrive: Delhi Indira Gandhi Intl (DEL) , Terminal 3 1:55 PM
                          Baggage Allowance+: 15 Kilograms
                          Confirm Baggage Fees
                          30 Aug 2013
                          Jet Airways India (9W) 7076 Promotion (W) Jet Airways IndiaConfirmation Number:EDXWBJ
                          Flight Operated By: JETKONNECT
                          Depart: Delhi Indira Gandhi Intl (DEL) , Terminal 3 6:50 PM
                          Fare Basis: W2IPS2
                          Not Valid Before: 30 Aug
                          Not Valid After: 30 Aug
                          Arrive: Bengaluru Intl Arpt (BLR) 9:35 PM
                          Baggage Allowance+: 15 Kilograms
                          Confirm Baggage Fees

Fare Information

Fare Calculation: Form of Payment: Not Available
                          VNS 9W DEL 2470O2IPJK 9W BLR 1817W2IPS2 INR4287END XT PD150IN PD350JN PD
                          233WO PD2700YQ PD100YR

Exchange Information:
                          This ticket was purchased in exchange for a previous ticket.

Previous Ticket Number: [protected]

Fare: INR 4287

Taxes and Carrier-imposed fees: INR 3533.00 XT
                          INR 2100.00 OA
                          INR 104.00 JN

Total: INR 2204A

Endorsement Information:
                          NON ENDO

Clear Trip Travels — No information about departure terminal

I booked flight ticket from Delhi to Mumbai by Air India Express flight no. IX 143 (PNR IX[protected] on 27th Feb' 2010 through Clear trip. Ticket was having no mention of domestic / international terminal. Being Domestic flight, we reached to domestic terminal around one and half an hour beofre. There we were told that the flight is from Internation airport. Since international terminal at Delhi airport is around 6-7 Kms away, we reached there around half an hour before after lot of strugle due to heavy traffic. After reaching to airport, we were not allowed to board the flight and no officer of Air India express entertained us. Even they mis-guided us for getting next flight with same tickets and told us to go to Domestic airport. On reaching again to domestic terminal we came to know that there is no counter for Air India Express and we need to go to International terminal. No refund of any money is made till now neither by Clear trip nor by Air India Express. Total amount paid was INR Eight thousand two hundred and five only (Rs 8205/- for two tickets).

Thanks & rgds,
                          Rakesh
                          # [protected]

ClearTrip — Travel Site Cheating

3days ago I had booked railway ticket from www.cleartrip.com and i got the ticket confirmed but when the concerned person reached the station he found out that the concerned train had stopped working since the last 5 days. Why was I charged for a ticket of a train that does not even work.?

fraud while rescheduling - Comment #1853749 - Image #0

deepswati
                            Jul 19, 2013

Address: DTC Bldg, Sitaram Mills Compound, N.M. Joshi Marg, Delisle Road, Lower Parel (E) Mumbai - 400011, Gurgaon, Haryana

Hi, I have booked a Indigo flight ticket of round trip from New Delhi to Srinagar through Clear trip (TRIP Id:- [protected]). They have charged me 24072/- ( Out of which 23,172 was airlines fight fare and 900/- is clear trip charge). I have also confirmed it from Indigo that they got 23172/- out of 24072. But when I got the tickets total charge mention was 23621/-. I have called the Cleartrip customer care a lot of times but no one is ready to give a proper answers. Some times they says that you got the 450/- discount on your tickets, but when i ask them to return back me the discounted money. Every times they says our seniors called you back and if they says we will returned you your 450/-. But i never got a call from their end till now. Please resolve it ASAP.
                            Varada Mahekar replied:

Thank you for writing to us regarding refund request for your flight reservation under Trip ID [protected].

We understand your concern and apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We wish to inform you that refund for the amount of Rs. 451/- has been processed from our end on 19th July 2013.

Please note that refund will be processed within 5-7 working days to the same account used while making the payment, depending on your issuing bank.

If you require any further assistance please write to us at [protected]@cleartrip.com.

Thank you for choosing Cleartrip for your travel needs.

Varada Mahekar
                            Customer Care Executive
                            E Care Team
                            www.cleartrip.com

venu@kumar
                              Jul 3, 2013

I booked hotel room Family A/C Suite for 2 days in chennai through cleartrip and paid money in advance, but after arriving the hotel people alloted normal A/c room,but cleartrip charged Family A/C room rate and when i asked clear trip to repay the balance amount, they denied to pay amount and saying that you didnt complained on same day.I really not understand the reason of cleartrip for not paying the amount and also there is no complimentary cookies, water bottles as per features mentioned in the clear trip voucher.

Cleartrip Trip ID: [protected]

Cleartrip.com — Refund of the amount

I tried to book ticket from cleartrip.com on 14th of Feb. Unfortunately the booking failed and amount was deducted from my account. I received an email stating that "DO NOT PANIC" and the amount will be posted back in my account with in 24 hours. Even after two days when I didnt get my amount back I check on their website which states will get the refund within 15 WORKING DAYS. I called up an executive at the call center and she said it will take 7 to 14 working days to get my refund back and they have released the amount and it depends on the bank. However, as per the bank, they say that as soon as they get the money, they will credit in the account and the amount is delayed from the vender’s side.
                              I don’t believe cleartrip as three different medium I have got three different TAT. It is not the matter of money but if the amount is taken immd. then why it should take almost half a month to get the refund. If anyone can suggest or advise. Please email me on [protected]@gmail.com

Government — NON REFUND OF AMOUNT

SIR, I HAVE BOOKED TWO TICKETS BEARING PNR NO. OOPTOU & OHRGEQ WITH KINGFISHER AIRLINES FROM SIRNAGAR TO DELHI IT-312 DTD 24 OCT 2012. BUT ON 19 OCT 2012 KINGFISHER ORIGINATED A MSG OF CANCELLATION OF FLIGHT . BUT REFUND YET NOT MADE EVEN AFTER 5 DAYS. PLEASE SOLICIT INSTRNS PSE.
                              Inbox
                              x
                              Venu Kumar Royal <[protected]@gmail.com>

Jul 1 (2 days ago)

to Cleartrip, hotelsat
                              I booked Family A/C suite hotel for 2 days in Mallika residency ie 24th june to 29th june, but when i arrived they given me normal A/c room and not responding to my questions and said to contact to clear trip or you can go for other hotels, but i dont have time bcoz already it is 12pm night where i cant search for hotels and after check in the bath rooms are not cleaned where 1 feet water floating in bath room and toilet is worst where i cant explain about that dirty toilet, i informed more than 3 times to Receiptionist to clean the toilets but no response from their end as they feels that i am staying for free and they said tomorrow will arrange for cleaning and adjust for the night with dirty toilet. I suffered whole night with bad smell in room.I required balance money bcoz i paid for Family suite but given normal room. So credit the balance amount to my account or else will be taken serious action and more over i am going to stop booking from your clear trip bcoz you made with third class hotels and making customers fools with dummy photos and features.

Cleartrip Customer Support

Jul 1 (2 days ago)

to me
                              Type your response ABOVE THIS LINE to reply
                              venrasmba
                              Subject: Cleartrip Trip ID: [protected]
                              JUL 01, 2013 | 04:12PM IST
                              Naresh Jadhav replied:
                              Dear Mr. Kumar,

Thank you for writing to us regarding your hotel reservation against Trip ID: [protected].

We would like to inform you that we have forwarded your mail to the concerned department.

We will update you as soon as we receive any revert from them.

If you require any further assistance, please write to us at [protected]@cleartrip.com.

Thank you for choosing Cleartrip for your travel needs.

Naresh Jadhav
                              Customer Service Executive
                              Cleartrip Customer Care
                              www.cleartrip.com
                              JUL 01, 2013 | 02:36PM IST
                              Original message
                              *Regards,
                              K.Venu Kumar.*

This message was sent to [protected]@gmail.com in reference to Case #: 454182.
                              [[eb74e6dbb640af09398fdfd0bab0d906b[protected]]]
                              Cleartrip Customer Support

4:21 PM (22 hours ago)

to me
                              venrasmba
                              Subject: Cleartrip Trip ID: [protected]
                              JUL 02, 2013 | 04:20PM IST
                              Naresh Jadhav replied:
                              Dear Mr. Kumar,

Thank you for writing to us regarding your hotel reservation against Trip ID: [protected].

We understand your concern and apologize for delay in replying to your email.

As per confirmation received from our concerned team we regret to inform you that in situation of any inconvenience, you should have called Cleartrip Customer Support anytime during your stay. However as per our records there are no details of you calling our customer support and informing about the problems faced by you.

Please note that as pr our records you have already utilized the entire stay. As per assured quality offer you should have called us within 12 hours of your check-out.

Hence we regret to inform to inform you that we would not be able to provide any refund from our end.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by you.
                              [[eb74e6dbb640af09398fdfd0bab0d906b[protected]]]

4:48 PM (22 hours ago)

to customersupport
                              Dear Naresh
                              I am not asking entire amount, I just demanding the extra price which I paid for Family suite and I got normal ac room. So charge as per the room rate and pay back extra amount.
                              Sent from my BlackBerry® on Reliance Mobile, India's No. 1 Network. Go for it!
                              From: Cleartrip Customer Support <[protected]@cleartrip.com>
                              Date: Tue, 2 Jul 2013 10:51:02 +0000
                              To: <[protected]@gmail.com>
                              ReplyTo: [protected]@cleartrip.com
                              Subject: Re: Cleartrip Trip ID: [protected]

T.Mittal
                                Jun 9, 2013

Address: East Delhi, Delhi

Cleartrip advertised visa money back on their site. However, on booking the tickets I got no cash back. On contacting the customer care, I was informed I was required to use a coupon code during the payment process and all the details on this was available on a web link.

My trip ID is [protected].

Cleartrip is fooling the web users by using wrong statements. Technically what they are referring to is discount, not a cash back. Cash back is money refunded after making the purchase at original price, while discount is deduction before the payment. I went with the international understanding of 'cash back' and lost money in the process as it did n't match with their definition.

I would thus not advice anyone to use cleartrip s their preferred travel agent.

babimitra
                                  May 13, 2013

Complaint: I booked an international air ticket on May 10that www.cleartrip.com. The Trip ID is [protected]. Their payment gateway for debit cards wasn't working --- and I wanted to use that to avail of their Rs 2000 cashback offer --- but when I called customer support they said to go ahead and buy the ticket using netbanking, send in the details and they would likely be able to give me the cashback.

This is the first time I'm buying an international ticket on Cleartrip and I am EXTREMELY disappointed at the poor quality of customer service.

First of all, the problem was with the Cleartrip website/financial gateway since it was not accepting a valid Debit card (Rs 2000 cashback was based on using a debit or credit card).

Secondly, I would have gone to some other sight and booked my ticket there but after spending lots of time on the phone with Cleartrip customer support I was told that I should go ahead and buy my ticket at Cleartrip using Netbanking and send in a detailed email with screenshots --- which I spent a lot of time doing --- and they would likely adjust the amount.

Thirdly, I now get an email from them saying that "Since the offer is now not applicable for your booking, kindly tell us about your present query and elaborate on same."

I am copying below the email correspondence with them and also attaching copies of the two screenshots they had asked me to send them.

I look forward to speedy redressal and refund!

Amitava

Amitava 'Babi' Mitra, PhD

mobile: +[protected]
                                  email: [protected]@yahoo.com
                                  linked in: http://www.linkedin.com/in/babimitra

copy of email correspondence with Cleartrip:

From: Cleartrip Customer Support <[protected]@cleartrip.com>
                                  To: [protected]@yahoo.com
                                  Sent: Monday, May 13, 2013 2:31 PM
                                  Subject: Re: Trip ID [protected] --- problems with payment using coupon code

Babi Mitra
                                  Subject: Trip ID [protected] --- problems with payment using coupon code
                                  MAY 13, 2013 | 02:31PM IST
                                  Mangesh Magar replied:

Since the offer is now not applicable for your booking, kindly tell us about your present query and elaborate on same.

Mangesh
                                  Cleartrip Customer Care
                                  www.cleartrip.com
                                  MAY 13, 2013 | 02:00PM IST
                                  Babi replied:
                                  I understand that the cashback was valid with a credit card or debit card, and not with netbanking --- as I explained to Sohil and also explained in detail in my email, that was not the problem.
                                  MAY 13, 2013 | 01:23PM IST
                                  Mangesh Magar replied:
                                  Dear Mr. Mitra,

Thank you for your patience.

As per one of the terms of this offer, you were required to make payment with any Debit or Credit Card of your choice. This offer was not valid on payment made by Net banking or Cash.

Since you have used Net banking you were not given the benefit of this offer.

For further assistance, please write to us at [protected]@cleartrip.com.

Thank you for choosing Cleartrip.

Mangesh
                                  Cleartrip Customer Care
                                  www.cleartrip.com
                                  MAY 11, 2013 | 09:54AM IST
                                  Mangesh Magar replied:
                                  Dear Mr. Mitra,

Thank you for writing to us regarding your issue for trip id [protected].

We are presently checking on your case for more details and shall contact you soon.

For further assistance, please write to us at [protected]@cleartrip.com.

Thank you for choosing Cleartrip.

Mangesh
                                  Cleartrip Customer Care
                                  www.cleartrip.com
                                  MAY 10, 2013 | 12:04AM IST
                                  Original message
                                  Babi wrote:

I had a problem using the coupon code APRSUM13 on the Cleartrip site while booking my Del-Bos-Del roundtrip ticket using my SBI Debit Card. As a result, I did not get the Rs. 2,000 discount that I should have got which would have resulted in my paying Rs, 70,275.

I called up customer support and spoke with Sohil.
                                  He asked me to go ahead and do my booking using Netbanking. He also asked me to send the following information and that if everything was okay, I would get Rs. 2,000 cash back and it would be processed within 24 hours.

I booked my ticket and paid Rs 72,275 for it. The trip ID is [protected] and the PNR number is 59VRFS

He asked me to take screen shots of the screen which showed the discounted fare and the screen which showed the problem with using my debit card for payment. I am attaching a word file with both those screen shots.

Other information I was asked for:
                                  * Name: Amitava Mitra
                                  * Airline name: Lufthansa
                                  * Coupon Code: APRSUM13
                                  * Coupon amount: Rs, 2,000
                                  * Number of passengers: One
                                  * Mode of payment tried for coupon: State Bank of India Debit Card using a valid SecureCode for Mastercard
                                  * Travel details of the ticket I was trying to book:

Lufthansa
                                  LH 763
                                  New Delhi → Munich
                                  Wed, 05 Jun 2013 08:50 — 13:25
                                  8h 5m, 0 stops
                                  Lufthansa
                                  LH 115
                                  Munich → Frankfurt
                                  Wed, 05 Jun 2013 15:00 — 16:05
                                  1h 5m, 0 stops
                                  Lufthansa
                                  LH 420
                                  Frankfurt → Boston
                                  Wed, 05 Jun 2013 17:55 — 20:10
                                  8h 15m, 0 stops
                                  Lufthansa
                                  LH 421
                                  Boston → Frankfurt
                                  Sun, 09 Jun 2013 22:05 — 11:25
                                  7h 20m, 0 stops
                                  Lufthansa
                                  LH 760
                                  Frankfurt → New Delhi
                                  Mon, 10 Jun 2013 13:45 — 00:30
                                  7h 15m, 0 stops

Looking forward to getting the Rs 2,000 refund.

Sincerely,

Amitava

rajatgupta0504
                                    Apr 4, 2013

I booked one return ticket from bangalore to chandigarh for 29th june using cleartrip.There was an ad coming on the website that if you have an American Express Card,you can redeem the coupon for an instant 1000 Rs cashback.I used that coupon code but after I filled in the card details,it showed an error in the coupon code reading "Sorry,we couldn't apply the coupon code" and booked my ticket at undiscounted price without even prompting to ask me that whether I want to continue with the payment without the coupon code or not.
                                    I called their customer care but the excuse they are givng is that their IT team has told them that no coupon code was used from my side,so they can't give me the cashback. Although,I have the screenshot for the error message that came at the time of booking.Still they are not ready to accept their fault and give me the cashback .

Below attached is the screenshot for the error message.
                                    Aug 18, 2016
                                    Dear Rajat,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience.

Could you please help us with the Trip ID in order to investigate the issue?

Cleartrip

Fraud Amex card coupon ad on Website - Comment #1611186 - Image #0
                                    Dear Rajat,

For your Bangalore - Chandigarh air reservation booked with us under Trip ID: [protected], we shall process the cash back of Rs 1000 into your same credit card account used for booking the reservation, within next 5 working days.

Cleartrip

samvig
                                      Mar 25, 2013

I had booked a ticket for my friend under the Trip ID [protected] and PNR No. XNLZN8 on 9th March, 2013 for travel on 12 April, 2013 which was from Delhi to Milan via Brussels and back. This ticket was booked for a Premium Economy class on Cleartrip for Rs. 81,167/- which was much more expensive than the Economy Class on your website. After I got a PNR Number I checked up the corresponding websites and also called Jet Airways and Brussels Airlines and they said that my Tickets had been booked in ECONOMY Class as THERE IS NO PREMIUM ECONOMY Class on these airlines.
                                      I called up Cleartrip and after talking to Mr. Pritam, got the tickets cancelled and was assured that Cleartrip would talk to the airlines and get me a full refund for my ticket. It has been close to 15 days and I get a standard reply from Cleartrip that they would revert to me within 48 hours. The issue still has not been resolved and the amount of Rs. 81,167 is still with Cleartrip.
                                      This is a clear case of cheating and fraud on the part of Cleartrip as they have sold me tickets for a class that does not exist in the Airlines and I have been overcharged for the same. I am thoroughly disgusted with Cleartrip on their highly unprofessional behaviour in this case. I would not suggest Cleartrip to anybody as the site is clearly cheating people by selling tickets of classes which do not exist and fooling the customers by overcharging for the same.

theabhishek
                                        Mar 3, 2013

This is the 2nd time when Cleartrips services and offers have been not any less than cheating. Their website once again hooked me (after many years) with big banners for Valentine's offer. I never got any confirmation on those offers post-booking and now when I enquired, I am being told that it was my responsibility to click on that offer after booking confirmation. Did you advertise or alert me after booking confirmation that thank you for booking and now plz click and avail this offer???? No. I have consistently been with MakeMyTrip for my domestic and international bookings for several years and I now know why they still stand as the preferred travel site and why I should stay away from cleartrip. I am sure MMT might have their own naysayers but atleast in my case Cleartrip has been a consistent let down.