HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 15, 2025
Complaints 32882

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 1431

Ramakirushnan
from Kotamangalam, Kerala
Nov 21, 2014

My son had used a credit card issued by HDFC Bank branch in Chennai. He has made purchases for Rs.1900 in October 2011 using that credit card. He has gone abroad in December 2011 and forgot to clear dues of Rs.1900 to HDFC. Now, he wants me to contact the Bank and pay the dues with interest not exceeding 24% p.a. But the Bank demands Rs.9000, almost 5 times the amount due. I am shocked to see that the Bank wants to collect a penalty of 400%, which is beyond comprehension. What is the remedy?
Dear Ramakirushnan,

Request the card holder to write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with his card and contact details and details of the deductions.Kindly mention the ref ID TTU[protected] in the subject line of the mail.

Anay
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

Sundaresa Guptha
    Nov 20, 2014

Hi My name is Sundaresa Guptha D. My Loan account number is 22898895. I have taken a credit card and a PL. I am abt to finish my credit card outstanding. But due to some financial crisis I am not able to repay my PL. I have paid more than 15 months and I still have 1, 07, 000 Pending. Few people are torturing me by coming to my room and my relatives house stating that I have abscond for past few months. I am still using that account and my permanent address is active. Now they are saying that they have filed a case in police station against me. Please help me in settling this loan for a considerable deduction. I will pay 70 K in 4 installments for sure. I have just joined in a job and this is the best i could do.
    Feb 6, 2017

sonashubh
      Nov 19, 2014

Address: Burdwan, West Bengal

This is to inform you that I had taken a two wheeler loan from HDFC Bank (Loan a/c no. 1159017)in 2005 and I was paid my EMI on time. But unfortunately my bike was stolen then I had submitted all vehicle documents and insurance papers to the Relationship Manager HDFC Bank – Asansol Branch. The RM assured that my loan a/c will be closed. Some days later I have contacted the Kolkata head branch and I was surprised to find that my loan a/c is still outstanding of RS. 16600/-. I therefore paid the outstanding amount together with a fine of Rs 3000 on 10.01.2014 and obtained the NOC. I asked to the representative of Kolkata branch that I will be eligible for any loan in future from HDFC Bank and he assured me yes you are eligible. But recently when I am applied for a personal loan from HDFC bank my loan application was rejected due to my CIVIL Reports is showing SETTELD. Now requested to you kindly remove the word SETTELD so that I do not face any problem in taking loan in the future. C.C :- 1. Customer Care - CIBIL 2. Customer Care – Consumer Forum Thanking You, Sona Mahato [protected]

Meganathan jothi
        from Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu
        Nov 19, 2014

This is my Application number : CC20160863, Dated : 29/10/14 Under the Name : Meganathan J . I had applied for Credit card in your Bank at branch ____________, inspite of being requesting many time for the status of approval . I haven't received any information on the same . I would request you to let me know what is the status and when would i get the card. Looking forward to your reply . thanks you, Meganathan +91 [protected]
        Dear Meganathan,

Request you to write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your card application, contact and issue details.Kindly mention the ref ID TTU[protected] in the subject line of the mail.

Anay

Pradeep khanchandani
          Nov 19, 2014

Address: Indore, Madhya Pradesh

Dear Sir, We have credit card swaping machine in favour of Fashion Point Tid No. 40206131, Mangal City Mall, Indore. Our 1 shop was at indraprasth tower. indore in favour of fashion point which we have closed at[protected]. there was 1 swaping machine and we have surrender that machine on dt.[protected] that TID No. was 40203420. but bank are charging bank charges regular from feb, 2014, Bank have charge expenses 22.2.2014 168.54 27.3.2014 168.54 29.4.2014 561.80 29.5.2014 561.80 12.6.2014 561.80 18.7.2014 561.80 25.8.2014 561.80 22.9.2014 561.80 25.10.2014 428.65 25.10.2014 432.59 18.11.2014 561.80 [protected] 5692.72 Please check and wave charges which you have charged otherwise you will loose your old customer. We have complain to your executive Mr. Neeraj Mobile No. [protected] last 3 month but they are not giving response we are your old customer and you will loose your customer like this and we have other showroom also there we are using your swaping machine. 1. Fashion World, Bansi Plaza, M.G.Road, Indore. Ph.[protected] 2. Shree Fashion Mangal City mall, Indore Ph. [protected] 3. Shri Anekant, Mangal City Mall, Indore Ph.[protected] 4. Fashion Point, Mangal City Mall, Indore Ph.[protected] We hope for your kind co-operation. Regards, Pradeep Khanchandani Fashion Point Indore M-[protected]

Gurkiran Singh
            Nov 18, 2014

On 3 Nov 14 I used my card to pay the Hotel Bill for GBP 700, the card transaction was declined first time hence I used my card again to pay the Bill this time transaction was successful but the money was debited twice from my Forex card account. Despite of many follow ups there is satisfactory response from Bank. I am in UK hence this was a international transaction. I've submitted them the declined transaction receipt and declaration from merchant to refund me the money back to my account for the void but Bank is not taking action for this, Can you please help me to sort this matter out.
            Further to above, I've already had a patience for 15 days but not news.

nbiplabs
              Nov 17, 2014

I have applied thrice for re-issue of credit card, but till now they are just justifying that they have not rcvd any letter from me. I have lost my card on 01.10.2014 & blocked the card on the same day. I have applied on 06.10.2014, 25.10.2014 & again on 05.11.2014. I haven't rcvd any positive feedback from them also. Name- Biplab Nath Email- [protected]@gmail.com Call- [protected]

priya75
                Nov 15, 2014

Hi, A strange process followed by HDFC Credit Department, which never informed while issuing any new card to any customer neither it’s written in any terms and condition that to reapply or close of any card or account we need to submit a hard copy to bank. Really strange that no other banks are following this process. In today’s busy world who has the time to go to bank and submit written application or even go ahead to courier or post the hard copy, for any kind of changes for your own account when there are others ways to authenticate through online? I had a card which was blocked in the month of Aug, 2014 and after that I never reapplied neither given any written communication to reissue a new card. But strangely a new card has been issued to me which I never received and now they have charged me the membership fee without ant intimation. When I asking for the reversal they are asking me to follow the procedure by submitting the hard copy for the closure and reversal of the amount. My question to HDFC, in the 1st instance why it has been issued when initially I have not followed the procedure to reissue the card by submitting any written application nor any one informing the customer about this kind of bull procedure. Really pathetic service and procedures HDFC is following and making the customer upset and unhappy. Please reserve the amount as I will not be making any payment towards this. Thanks & Regards Priyanko Sinha [protected].
                Dear Priyanko,

We have responded to you on Twitter.Request you to kindly check the same.

Anay
                When have you replied because I did not received any notification on this. Also I got a call 2 days before stating that my membership fee has been removed and HDFc has made this card life time free card. I have asked the lady to sent me an email conversation on the same but still I have not received any confirmation what has been told to be over phone.

ank267
                  Nov 11, 2014

Hi, I tried recharging my VODAFONE number through online recharge with an amount of 155 INR through HDFC net banking. My mobile is not recharged but the amount has been deducted from my account. Do rectify the mistake and credit the same amount into my account. The txn id is 448521 . Do contact for further details.

Kindly write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your account and contact details, details of the transaction and ref ID TTU[protected] mentioned in the subject line of the mail.

Anay

Safdar Rizvi
                    Nov 11, 2014

Hi Team, I sent the mail to correct the nominee relationship and address at 7th Oct 2014 and it is still not corrected. It's about more than 1 month and the request are still pending and also didn't got any response from your side. Not satisfied with the service. At this time I am thinking that I got stucked after buying the Policy from HDFC Life. Before applying for the policy, I got lots of call to buy the policy but after getting the policy no any response coming from the HDFC Life. Please find attach the proof. Thanks, Syed Safdar Abbas Rizvi +91-[protected]
                    Dear Mr. Rizvi,

Your concerns has been noted and necessary action is taken. Confirmation Email sent on your registered email ID request you to check the same.

HDFC Life

Bharath G
                      from Madurai, Tamil Nadu
                      Nov 11, 2014

the description NWD DEC CHG (ATM Withdrawal charges) eventhough my account was opened as salary account and was said there will be no sur charges for any no of withdrawals from ATM other than HDFC. There were no intimation re. cogarding the policy change if any also. This is very bad and unprofessionalism as a reputed worldwide bank shouldn't be doing this...
                      Dear Bharath,

Request you to write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your account and contact details, details of the deductions and reference ID TTU[protected] in the subject line of the mail.

Anay

puneetgju
                        Nov 11, 2014

Hi HDFC Bank, I got a call from no.[protected] at 11:56 AM 8th Nov. A girl named "Mrinda" was on the line from HDFC Bank. She asked me about one of my friend name kundan kumar. Do you know him ? is he your friend. i said yes. Now she started telling about whole story that, my friend have some ammount due from HDFC credit card. So i have to inform him & force him to deposit that amount As soon as possible. Now the main point which is totally bull- Lie. She said my friend register my named as a bank guaranteer. we have all the detail of your account also, we can block your account & will recover that money from my account. she simplly threatening me. i have no idea whats going on. i never sign/register as a guaranteer of my friend named kundan. i am colleagues of him & working in same company, that it. She again called me at 12:12 PM asking the same, Did i inform him or we will recover the money by different way. HOW CAN ANY ONE FROM BANK WILL TALK TO HIS CUSTOMER & WRONGLY THREATEN!! I NEED A ANSWER!! I can't tolerate. I Want To Register a Complaint Againt HDFC BAnk i am going to churn off my HDFC Bank Account. Puneet Kumar [protected]
                        Dear Puneet,

Apologies for the inconvenience caused. Request you to write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your account and contact details, details of the call received and ref ID TTU[protected] in the subject line of the mail.

Anay

aditya_bansal1423
                          from Etawah, Uttar Pradesh
                          Nov 11, 2014

Dear HDFC, i am a policy holder from HDFC ERGO for my Hyundai Verna ( HR 80 9000), which is a zero dept policy (policy number - [protected] 000) i had a small accident on 5th November 2014 which damaged both the bumpers of my car. My car was given to DAHIYA HYUNDAI in Rani Bagh Delhi on 7th Nov 2014 for repair work. On 11th Morning i got a call from the service centre regarding some approval issues for the car stating that only the half amount for painting of bumpers have been approved by HDFC ERGO . I called the surveyor for HDFC ERGO ( Dheeraj Sood - [protected]), asking him about the issue. i was informed that the bumpers of the car had some scratches earlier, which in there terms are considered multiple damages. In these era, where road is full of traffic and hectic things, due you think its possible for a car not to have any scratches on them? or is it possible to get every scratch or minor damages in bumper repaired under policy every time it happens since it takes 2-3 days and costs you Rs1000 as claim charges.? This is highly disappointing and pathetic service/accountability on parts of HDFC ERGO.They gave you a policy worth Rs 20000 and it's OK to go years without any claim but as soon as you apply for one they shows all the tantrums and lame excuses to harrass costumer . It's not a question of 2-3 thousand ruppees . It's how you harrass the costumer. I am hoping the issue might get resolver, as i am eager to take this issue to any damn level including other consumer forums and legal action. it's high time these companies leave there pathetic and un asked for trouble to costumers. Aditya bansal ( [protected]@yahoo.com) [protected]

SumiMurali
                            Nov 10, 2014

IBT charges, high value cash withdrawal

Address: Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala

I, Sumi is using HDFC ATM Card for 2 years. When I checked my bank statement I found a reduction of IBT Charge, 112.36 INR in my statement. Need a solution to this as many customers across the country must paying this money and that could result into lakhs of rupees being charged on a daily basis. If a customer has to pay to withdraw his own money then what is the use of savings account which are of 14 digits. I would request the...
                            rohinisharna
                            Nov 10, 2014

I purchased one life insurance plan: 'HDFC Life ProGrowth Plus', from HDFC. The life insurance policy number is : 17074412 which I started with Rs 75000, which was revoked by me during the free look period of 30 days. And I was clearly informed by the bank representatives that the total sum of Rs. 75, 000 will be credited to my account if i plan to cancel it within 30 days. (a big lie i guess) They returned 72240.35/- and not the total money. Unecessarily deducted : 2759.65/- . The reason for withdrawing this policy was misleading the customer and mis-representation of facts. I asked for ONE policy and one agent of HDFC bank named Neeraj Chaurasiya (in NFC branch ) gave me 2 policies. I came to know when the documents were delivered to my place. (how conveniently these people lie in order to sell off policies and make their incentives out of it) When i made a complaint, the bank said 'you signed the document and it was told to you that some money will be deducted.' Why i made a complaint : 1. The rep lied that he is giving 1 policy, instead he gave me 2 policies. 2. He never attended my call or helped me in any of the clarifications in fact it was all lies. 3. All the agents said infact promised me that the documents will be handed over to me and not sent to the registered address which is in bhopal. (because of which i couldnot check the documents) 4. Most important point : all the agents, each one whom I interacted with said that there is a free look period of 30days and I will get the complete refund if I plan to revoke it 5. When agents give documents for sign offs to the customers, they dont ask them to read the papers, they simply give the details of what is written in the documents and ask for sign offs. And the agents categorically told me that in the free look period if you plan to cancel the policy you will get the complete money 75000- total money. Request you to please help if you can. thanks :)
                            Dear Mrs. Sharma,

We understand that you are not satisfied with our response to your complaint. We regret the inconvenience caused.

Further we assure you that the resolution has been provided after due consideration of all facts and findings.

HDFC Life

vivekji4
                              Nov 10, 2014

Address: Chandigarh, Chandigarh

My file number was[protected]. Just before 5days of registry date they told me that don't provide loan for IT fields and also not going to refund processing fees of 5058 INR, which was taken for a loan of 9lacks I also into a loss of 5lacks Biaana amount due to HDFC LTD. Please refund my processing fees

sridhar2804
                                Nov 10, 2014

Hello Sir I have availed Personal Loan with loan account no : 19299205 from your bank in the mm/year 09/2011 for 6 lacs rupees. I have paid 39 EMI's till date. I have been told initially that after 36 EMI's there will not be any Pre closure charges for loan closure.. As per the repayment schedule statement my total outstanding till date is Rs. 267, 474.21. When I call personal banker for closure procedure he told me the final amount which includes 2.25 % of pre closure charges. Now my concern is how can you add pre closure charges? If there is any revision in your guidelines that should be applicable for new customers but not for old or existing customers. Request you consider this issue as high priority and do the needful ASAP. Looking forward for viwer of my PreClousure Charges.

khandelwaldk
                                  Nov 9, 2014

Address: Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh

I have applied for loan transfer from LIC HFL Bank to HDFC LTD in HDFC Ltd, Lohia Nagar, Ghaziabad Branch on 15/07/2014 through HDFC Loan File No.[protected]. For this a Processing fees of 5, 091.00/- have drawn from my account through Cheque no. 580520 By HDFC LTD on 31/07/2014. I received the sanctioned letter from HDFC Ltd of Approx. 906000/- amount on Dated 03/09/2014. Now my Legal reports have cleared from the bank lawyer and came back to HDFC LTD, Lohia Nagar branch, Ghaziabad under Mr. Manoj but he is not ready to prepare the loan amount cheque till date. In between the whole process I have visited approx 16 to 20 times in HDFC Lohia Nagar, Ghaziabad Branch to meet Mr. Manoj to deposit many papers regarding my property and my service details, some papers twice times I have submitted to him but his response to me is not clear. After clarify the legal report from bank lawyer and my each documents for HDFC Head office, Mr. Manoj (from HDFC LTD Lohia nagar Branch) is asking the original papers of registry of my property which is having in my current loan bank (LIC HFL) before making the cheque of loan amount. In My Same building flat No. G2 my neighbour Mr. Shushil Kumar Triphathi file no.[protected] have taken the loan from HDFC LTD before one year. The bank staff is harries me a lot before 4 months please help me to solve my case because I have spent a lot of my time and money in this matter. Kindly Please help me. Regards, Deepak Khandelwal HDFC File No.[protected] Mobile No.:- [protected] G3, M74, Pratap Vihar 'M' Block, Ghaziabad

anil veena
                                    Nov 9, 2014

Proposal No. 17032274 I have seen really worse customer services and delay in response but you guys have toppled all the bad service record. I paid all in advance on for this term policy. Submitted all mandatory documents at that time itself. After 20 Days no communication about my medical from HDFC, I myself called many times and dropped mails 6-7 times I have literally have been on the edge of frustration, it's all takes from your representatives but no concrete work in delivering policies on time. What I am not able to understand, how you can expect customers to believe in you, when you can't perform the first step right. When a customer opts for a Term plan, you should understand it's about a life and a family whom he/she cares about, so unless he feels satisfied after how he can be assured that after his/her life you (HDFC LIFE) will take care of things smoothly. This has been embarrassing for myself to fight for something which rightfully is mine and in response to that i just get is some lies about on-going process or the false policy delivery time. Please wake up guys, this way nobody is going to opt your policies, such bad services can't attract more customer base. nikhil bhatia
                                    HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Raju.kpatel
                                      Nov 8, 2014

I have taken Vehicle loan from HDFC bank, drive in road, ahmedabad in April-2013 with 18 months of installment. At the time of taking loan, I have said that I have HDFC bank accout but it is not in use. So HDFC bank executive (Name: Sajjad) has told me to reactivate the account. I have said him that I ll not be able to maintain minimum balance in that account, so he said me that he would make some adjustment that would not charge any maintenanace chargea in it and i just have to deposit installment amount in account as it will be cinvinient for them to deduct installment amount. Acordingly I have submitted all installment on time every month. Till 16 installment, I didnt face any issue. In 17th installment, bank has charged me 600 rs. Charge for account balance maintenance and and 18th full installment of 3950 they have deducted fully as charges of balanave maintenance. Till 16 installment they have not charges any amount only in last two installment they have deducted total 4600 rs as charges. Due to whichmy last installment was not paid to HDFC loan co. I have discussed this with drive in road brach but they are not ready to give me any answer and they are rudely giving me the answer. I have also talked with rajkot branch as my account is with that branch but they are telling me that issue is from ahmedabad branch so ask them. Again I went HDFC branch of ahmedabad, now they are tell person who has deal with me for loan is from HDFC loan so ask them. I Also discussef same with HDFC lian department, they told me that its not issue from their side. In short, all are not giving me the proper explanation and reason and solution. Now HDFC loan are giving me warning and threat to forfitt my vehicle only for unpaid last installment which I have paid but they wrongly deducted as charges.

My another question is that why charges deducted in only last two installment? Why noy in first 16 months?

Please help me to fix this issue? Now I am fad up with continous calls and warnings and threats from HDFC, please help me.

Party Involved: HDFC Bank (Drive in road, Ahmedabad, ) HDFC Bank (Raiya Road, Rajkot), HDFC Auto Loan (Ahmedabad).

My Name: Raju K. Patel
                                      My Account no.: [protected]
                                      Customer Relation No.: 38285193
                                      Dear Raju,

Request you to write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your account and contact details, details of the disputed charges and ref ID TTU[protected] in the subject line of the mail.

Anay
                                      HDFC Bank Customer Assistance.