Idea Cellular Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 7, 2025
Complaints 16717

File a complaint to Idea Cellular

Having problems with Idea Cellular?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Idea Cellular customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Idea Cellular reviews & complaints page 308

Mukhtar Farid
from Mahad, Maharashtra
Jul 23, 2017

Address: Thane, Maharashtra, 421302

Please note i dialed *121# to know the offers and received following plan

1) 399-unltd calls+70 gb 70d
There were other plans too but i opted for this plan paid 399 and receive confirmation by sms
Recharge done (Rs. 399 unlimited calls with fup, 0.5gb data 35 days) dial *125*5# for data bal. Check.

This was on july 21, 2017.

Today morning when i called number [protected] and a charge of rs. Two was deducted from my balance from main talk time.
Again i called another number and again there is a deduction of rs. One.
These deductions were on july 22, 2017.

Please note i tried to talk to customer care services but the call was never got through and call was drop down without listing further.

I request you to look into matter and restore my applicable 399 rs. Services.

My number is [protected]
Mukhtar farid
Sep 2, 2017
Idea Cellular customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Jul 24, 2017
Idea Cellular Customer Care's response

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.As per recent telecon, we have noted your concern under[protected] ref number. Please be rest assure, an update for the same will be provided as on 25th July, 2017. Also would inform that your feedback is been taken and will look into it.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

Shery Mohan B M
    from Brahmapur, Odisha
    Jul 23, 2017

Address: Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, 695074

I am fedup by receiving repeated calls from idea showroom to make the bill payment for a closed connection. I had visited the idea outlet at vellayambalam - Trivandrum, Kerala on 2/5/2017 and cleared my dues and requested them to close the connection. They said just pay the dues and it will get closed.
    Mob: [protected]
    Receipt no:[protected]
    Account :[protected]
    Amount: Rs 1142/-

Its really a mere negligence from the idea showroom executives that the connection is still active. I stopped using the connection after clearing my dues and was in a assumption that the connection is no more valid. Now I don't want to make any further payments. Since I had given clear instructions to close the connection. Please ensure that I won't get disturbed again unnesserily.

Warm regards
    Sherymohan B M
    Sep 5, 2017
    Jul 24, 2017

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.
    As checked, we have received the payment of the said amount. Also would inform that there is some outstanding amount to be paid for the the month of May and June. So, we request you to make the payment for the usage to avoid further action.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

Naina Ben
      Jul 22, 2017

My mbl number is [protected] and staying in ghazibad, my postpaid bill was 2048 and one of the lady of your customer care office told me to pay 1200 and outing will be start and her mbl number is [protected]. I have paid that amount in chandan nagar ofc ghazibad up. Can you plz check and tell what is the problem and why the customer care people are not responding properly and that lady mbl number is also switched off.
      Aug 26, 2017
      Jul 24, 2017
      Hi Naina,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.We have addressed your concern under 1-[protected]. Please allow some time till 27th July, 2017 for the same to update you.Also, would inform that migration from postpaid to prepaid connection is pending and outstanding amount is show which is to be paid.We request you to send the receipt number or proof of payment at [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com mail for better assistance.

Meeta.

Ananth Anilkumar
        from Mavelikara, Kerala
        Jul 22, 2017

Address: Ernakulam, Kerala, 683582

I am an engineering student studying in kerala. So, my primary stay is at a hostel, in palissery, angamaly. I recently took a 3g/4g plan for 347. Now, it seems that i can't use 4g, because 4g isn't available at this place. Then i planned on using 3g. But, eventhough 3g is working, the connection i available only at some places and is lost at times. When i come in the weekend, which is in alappuzha, though i get 4g at some places, the signal is very weak, and if i move a little from my position, it might jump from 4g to 2g.
        Please look into the matter.
        Aug 24, 2017
        Jul 24, 2017
        Hi Ananth,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.We tried calling you, but there was no response. we request you to provide alternate number with suitable date/time to call you.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

Kamaya
          Jul 22, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411001

Dear sir/mam. I was recharge my mobile number vai freecharge
          Recharged number:[protected]
          Recharged amount and date: rs.352 and 20-jul-2017
          Operator id:mh[protected]
          But i am not get full benefits. As per your customer service center, they told me i received just 2.5 gb data.. But your offer is 28 gb data and free calling for 28 days. Please help me
          Aug 28, 2017
          Jul 22, 2017
          Updated by Kamaya
          Dear sir/mam .I was recharge my mobile number vai freecharge
          Recharged number:[protected]
          Recharged amount and date: Rs.352 and 20-Jul-2017
          Operator ID:MH[protected]
          But I am not get full benefits.as per your customer service center, they told me I received just 2.5 GB data..but your offer is 28 GB data and Free calling for 28 days . please help me
          Jul 24, 2017
          Hi Kamaya,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.We have noted your concern[protected] ref number. Be assured, an update for the same will be given as on 25th July, 2017.Also would inform that your feedback is considered. You will be update for the same shortly.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

Rockin Mohit
            from Ambasa, Tripura
            Jul 22, 2017

Address: Hazaribagh, Jharkhand, 825301

Recently i bought a new idea sim in which i got approx 15 gb data for 1 month and after 10 days my data balance was about 10 gb remaining and i got a message that recharge with ₹17 and get 1 day internet unlimited free and i recharged with it and after that i checked my data balance it showed nothing then i called them then they told that it data balance has lapsed and it is nil but i told them it was nothin written in the msg about the terms and conditions that ur data will lapse and i made a recording of that but they didi not resolve it.
            Sep 1, 2017
            Jul 24, 2017

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.We request you to share your idea number where the problem persist with suitable date/time to call and resolve your query.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.
            Idea cellular is biggest worst and fraud company

Nityanand Tandle
              Jul 22, 2017

Address: 411027

Without my consent, idea had subscribed my mobile number for ‘globocomm-bollymix’ services and internet services (2g, 3g, 4g). My 199 tariff plan is subscribed only for calls pack. I have never requested to subscribe my mobile number for ‘globocomm-bollymix’ or internet services from my mobile number or email or call or website? Without prior confirmation thru sms/email how can idea register/subscribe me for this unwanted service and charge me 150 rs for ‘globocomm-bollymix'even for a day, and rs.145.280/- for 'internet' saying 10gb data free on 4g ad fluctuating to 3g/2g and charging me rs.145.280/- for 207618 kb even though i have not subscribe for any internet packs. I am totally disappointed with your hidden services charging me extra for june annd july 2017. Please correct the bill for this and last month, then only i am going to make bill payment after correction. I have subscribed for pure call pack (199rs) no internet data pack. Please resolve the problem asap.
              I am not going to pay the ‘globocomm-bollymix' and internet services you have charged me for.
              Meeta chhablani please understand my problem you just can't give invalied, irrelevant answers, solutions and saying again and again to write email to [protected]@idea. Adityabirla.com or contact 198/12345. We tried these things long time ago, so only complaining as it is still not resloved. As you don't understand our issue so please pass our complain to your manager for resolution.
              Aug 24, 2017
              Jul 24, 2017

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.We request you to share idea number where the problem persist with suitable sate/time to call you.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.
              Meeta U have read my complain. Please read it again with PATIENCE. You have only ONE answer for all queries, You are just copy pasting it without reading or understanding it. I am repeatedly saying
              Meeta chhablani please understand my problem you just can't give invalid, irrelevant answers, solutions and saying again and again to write email to [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com or contact 198/12345. We tried these things long time ago, so only complaining as it is still not resloved. As you DON'T UNDERSTAND our issue so please pass our complain to your MANAGER for resolution.

somnathmatule
                Jul 22, 2017

Address: Satara, Maharashtra, 415110

Dear.
                This complaint is regarding my postpaid idea connection. First idea gave me free 4g data on 4g network. I started using it. But because of network fluctuation i used 3g network unknowingly and for this they charged me around 600rs. Now they are refusing me to give the waiver. Why i should pay for their network problem. Idea is cheating with the customer, first they says free data and then they charge us by fluctuating network. It's not possible to anyone to check the network every second. I want full waiver of charges including taxes. Kindly do the needful.
                Aug 24, 2017
                Jul 24, 2017
                Dear Somnath,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.we have addressed your concern under 1-[protected] ref number. Be assured, an update for the same will be given as on 27th July, 2017.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.
                Dear Idea. My concern is resolved as you understood your billing mistake and gave me waiver. Now I am withdrawing my complain. Thank u consumer forum.

Posimreddy
                  Jul 22, 2017

Address: Rangareddy, Andhra Pradesh, 500060

Idea promised me that the international roaming will work anywhere in the world and even in website it is showing that network is provided by vodafone in hungary. But i have not received signal since i landed here from 16th july 2017. When i call idea care and customer support, they said that particular contract with other telecom services is over and they suggested me to wait till idea decides to renew the contract. I have raised complaint on this on 17th july and till now no action has been taken. This effects all my communication because of this just waste and worst idea. For international roaming activation they have charged 3000 rupees from me and i am not recieving signal. I want idea to pay my loss during these business days. Here is the ticket number for reference (Sr# c1-[protected] submitted: service request update - idea) attached is the receipt that i have paid for international roaming services 3000 rupees.
                  Sep 15, 2017
                  I want to know how this is resolved ..waste idea..never use this service again
                  Jul 24, 2017

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.We tried calling you, but the number was switched off.Please share the alternate number with suitable date/time to call you.Also would inform that, complaint for roaming issue was raised and cancelled due to incomplete information. You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.
                  Jul 26, 2017
                  Updated by Posimreddy

I have provided my Hungary alternate number +[protected]. My family is with me and no one is staying in hyderabad then how can I provide my local alternate number . Your customer representative is saying that they don't have facility to call international number and then how IDEA is running this big company. First check you have roaming facility in Hungary or not as my colleague is also not recieving signal and we tried in multiple mobiles. Please don't tell me the same story that you cannot reach me . If you want to solve my problem then call me to my Hungary number or provide your technician number so that o can call him in working hours. Anyway tell me who will bare my loss during these days.

Rakesh .

I have provided my Hungary alternate number +[protected]. My family is with me and no one is staying in hyderabad then how can I provide my local alternate number . Your customer representative is saying that they don't have facility to call international number and then how IDEA is running this big company. First check you have roaming facility in Hungary or not as my colleague is also not recieving signal and we tried in multiple mobiles. Please don't tell me the same story that you cannot reach me . If you want to solve my problem then call me to my Hungary number or provide your technician number so that o can call him in working hours. Anyway tell me who will bare my loss during these days.

Rakesh .
                  Idea Cellular Customer Care's response, Sep 24, 2017

We tried calling you unable to reach you, at the provided number +36 70 256 5057. We request you to select manual network T-Mobile or Vodafone. Also, check with the other handset. If furtherly facing the issue. You may write back to us at [email protected] for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Lakshmi.
                  Same is the case here, i am in US since 29th April 2018 and still not able to activate roaming... IDEA is cheating the customers.

IDEA has only few words to tell me, "Sorry for the inconvenience", "We are working on it", "it will get rectified by tomorrow". But nothing happening i am tired of calling 198/[protected].

they dont care whatever is the issue. simply saying they are unable to reach me on my US number. i see this is the common word they use for all the international roaming customers.

Please dont trust IDEA.
                  Yes exactly,

IDEA doesn't care for their customer. I have been in US since a month from April-18 and I have also placed a request for International Roaming and it is not working in US at all.
                  When I went to Germany, I had taken a Germany SIM (Ortel) which worked without any issue (with Ortel number). I have tried also another T-Mobile SIM card which is working properly in my handset. IDEA said that they have tie-up with T-Mobile in USA however I am not getting signal at all for my IDEA SIM.
                  Now I have stopped the IDEA International Roaming facility on phone as there is no use at all due to network unavailability.

From,
                  Amit T

amit dot terdalkar at the rate gmail dot com

NOTE: Purposely I have not given a single star as the service is worse.

sukhchain shah
                    Jul 22, 2017

Address: Surat, Gujarat, 3309

Sir mere ko mere prepaid num [protected] ki call or sms details mere ko apne personal kaam k liye detais idea care se bhi chaliy mere e mail id [protected]@gmail.com pe send kar dijiy idea care me to koi sunne ke liye bhi tyar nhi ha vo log koi pdi nhi ha call detaols ki wjh se mera kaam bnd pda ha sara plz jaldi details ki mail send kar do aap ka bht dhana waad hoga
                    Aug 24, 2017
                    Jul 24, 2017
                    Dear Sukhchain,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response. As per regulations, we cannot share the calls/SMS details.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

sam samra
                      from Patiala, Punjab
                      Jul 22, 2017

Address: Ludhiana, Punjab, 141004

"virtue infocom, 976-1, brs nagar" ludhiana — 141001
                      The above idea store is scamming the customers with a new trick.

I have damaged my idea prepaid sim ([protected]) and visit this store for new sim.
                      They told me that my same prepaid number cannot be activated and i have to choose postpaid plan to active my same prepaid number.
                      I am using my idea prepaid number from past 3 years and badly wanted it to get activated.
                      Despite my requests they change my prepaid no. To postpaid and after that i had to deposit the security of rs300 as well.

It's frustrating how this idea virtue info com is cheating and scamming the customers.

Not only this but also happened same with my mom.
                      She went to provide her adhar card for her prepaid number verification.
                      They told my mom that since her age is above 55 years and her fingerprints cannot be verified by machine.
                      Her prepaid number will be blocked and to use this same number in future she needs to change it to postpaid.
                      She polietly said no to them and came back.
                      It happened to 4 of our family and friends.

Please advice how to launch a formaol complaint agaist the virtue infocom idea store.

Many thanks
                      Gurinder
                      571 i block, brs nagar
                      Sep 2, 2017
                      Jul 24, 2017

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.We tried calling you, but there was no response. Please share the alternate number with suitable date/time to call back and resolve your query.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

Dipti Humbre
                        Jul 22, 2017

I dont know at whose name in my family my sim is registered how can i know that name for verification process plz help me..,... I can tell u some names of family members at whomse my sim register but exactly i dont know the name of that person... Plz help me sir or madam how i knw my sim owner name i want only name not other details i dont know my sim number
                        Aug 29, 2017
                        Jul 24, 2017
                        Hi Dipti,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response.Please share your idea contact number/alternate number with suitable date and time to call back and resolve your query.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

Rushiraj1987
                          from Solapur, Maharashtra
                          Jul 22, 2017

Address: Nagpur, Maharashtra, 440009

मैंने idea से [protected] ईस नंबर पर 499 unlimited plan ली या था पर company ne 900 ka bill bheja मैं मेरा मेरा बील भर के prepaid karana chahata hu pr uske bad bhi company muzse our extra charg 499 mang rahi hai jo maine use hi nahi kiya us extra mounth ke charges mai q bharu jo maine use hi nahi kiye

ravindar khoja
                            Jul 21, 2017

Sir, i have micro sim registerd in assam, now i have purchased a new phone, it uses nano sim card, and currently i am in jamnagar, gujrat, i asked idea retail store to give me nano sim but they are saying we can't give you nano sim, u need to get it from assam where it is registerd. How it is possible to travel 2000+ km to get nano sim, my mobile no. [protected]
                            Sep 1, 2017
                            Jul 22, 2017
                            Hi Ravindar,

As per conversation, we have addressed your issue to the concern department. Be rest assured an update for the same will be provided shortly.
                            You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

rsantosh5
                              Jul 21, 2017

Address: 411015

I have been an old customer of idea cellular. My mobile number is [protected]. Last month i received a call from the telecaller of idea suggesting me to change the plan as per my usages. I agreed to increase my tariff by more than inr 200/- per month in order to avail better services and privileges. But once i received my latest idea bill i got a shock of additional charges of inr 3635/- showing as prorated overage charges. The telecall has not informed me about this charges other wise i would not have changed my plans. I want this company to reverse this amount from my bill because as i have not been informed by the service provider.
                              Santosh ranjan
                              Sep 5, 2017
                              Jul 22, 2017
                              Hi Santosh,

As per details checked and found, the charges are applied as per usage. You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

Dhananjaypanchal1451990
                                Jul 21, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411038

I have been charged for value added service of blue lima, i have no idea what it is and balance of rs 35 every week from 21st june 2017. I am very surprised to see this vas and why did it get active and why did it allow to deduct balance until i confirmed through message or anything.

This is sheer loot of customer, can you please raise to make them pay for this?
                                Aug 29, 2017
                                Jul 29, 2017
                                As details checked, your concern regards to VAS is discussed and resolution is communicated. For any further assistance you can write us back at [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com or can call us on 12345 or 198.
                                Rajat.

Sankaran Chettiyar
                                  from Adur, Kerala
                                  Jul 21, 2017

Respected authority, i'm esteemed to be your retailer, due to the respect n passion towards idea cellular, i do write this
                                  I'm a retailer n' i've done virtual top ups for the company's clients, the confirmation message is not sent to me, the clients phone was at his residence therefore it was unable to know more, therefore please take the necessity, also;
                                  • i've contacted the customer service but the response was too poor, the feedback from the customer service was very poor please do take the action in deed.
                                  Sep 2, 2017
                                  Jul 22, 2017
                                  Hi Sankaran,

Please contact dealer for the same.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

nancy dehal
                                    Jul 21, 2017

My no was ported from idea postpaid to vodafone prepaid on 12th or 13th of june. I had ported it because there was no idea signal at the place where i was transferred to. Till then all the pending bills were paid and by billing cycle was 23 to 23. Now, i again received a bill on 23 june from 23 may to 23 june and the idea people have charged rs 1100 as some prorated data used on 12th june 2017.

Firstly, when there was no signal, how could i use the internet and that so of rs1100 and again when my plan has just 1gb 3g data!!!. And that so when i did not exceed the data as i was using jiofi.

Secondly, when my no. Was already ported how could they charge me for the remaining month.
                                    Aug 23, 2017
                                    Jul 22, 2017
                                    Hi Nancy,

Please provide contact number to call with suitable date/time.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

JENIS BERA
                                      Jul 21, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411014

I have ultimate 499 plan activated under my mobile number [protected] in maharashtra region. According to plan i get unlimited 2g/3g/4g data and additional 1 gb data per day. This plan is activated on my number since 15th july, 2017. Now just in 6 days my unbilled amount is showing as 3382 rs/-. How can it be this much amount where my monthly plan is of just 499 /-. I don't have any other service activated on mu number which i have verified from idea app and website. This is not acceptable. Please look into this and resolve the issue.
                                      Aug 30, 2017
                                      Jul 22, 2017
                                      Hi Jenis,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and delay in response. As per details checked and found, the charges are applied for VAS subscription, data offer, late payment charges, SMS and Jackpot offer with Tax added.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.

Anshul23
                                        Jul 21, 2017

Address: Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh, 456010

I opted one of your plans for of jackpot offer, and if my understanding is not wrong that jackpot offer would make you eligible for fixed amount of data usage within 1-10gb for charge of rs 100.

But cunningly and intentionally it was nowhere mentioned about the charges that would apply post consumption of offered data and no surprise that those will be huge, i ended up paying 495.68 rs for consuming 121.06 mb of extra data. (Is it not the most expensive data usage in today’s scenario?) i was really shocked, but considering it as my blunder i quickly ran to one of your idea outlets to cancel the plan as it can only be activated online but deactivation is not possible via idea app. Not only that i also stopped using any internet services via idea.

The representative told me that plan has been deactivated, however that story was really different, the plan can only and only be activated and cannot be deactivated, and i would be charges for entire duration even after not using any data and making proper and crystal clear communications to stop the service.
                                        Aug 27, 2017
                                        Jul 22, 2017
                                        Hello Anshul,

As checked, your concern is been noted under 1-[protected].Be assured, we will update you for the same as on 24th July, 2017.You may write back to us at social media or [protected]@idea.adityabirla.com for assistance. Please contact 198/12345 for further services and complaints if any.

Meeta.